Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1... 3 4 5 6 7 ...52  Previous   Next
New Plugin: LoadDVD - Open/Play Media and Automation Client
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantDVDmaven
Registered: August 24, 2007
Posts: 3
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Thanks for the reply and links. Neither solved the problem of windows taking back the .avi file, or why loadDVD would WMP even if the file assoc. was for another program.  Not a big deal, since the play option works.

Actually, I was doing my "final" troubleshooting while writing the email, and figured that I would leave it all in there so that if someone else comes up with a similar problem, there's a known solution. Primarily that loadDVD in the wrong folder can cause odd behavior. I still haven't figured out how that happened, or why loadDVD loads when its loaded in the wrong folder, but it happens... Oh - to clarify, my old v2 installation was in c:/program.../DVD Profiler and when I installed v3, I put it into .../DVD Profiler 3 just in case I wanted to go back. loadDVD installed into /DVD Profiler by default.

I'll use the play option on the "production" machine. Now to figure out how to create a field for the videos I'm, um, "evaluating"    before purchase, and those I'm saving off satellite, so that I can keep track of which ones are not from my physical disc collection.
 Last edited: by DVDmaven
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,246
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting DVDmaven:
Quote:
Thanks for the reply and links. Neither solved the problem of windows taking back the .avi file, or why loadDVD would WMP even if the file assoc. was for another program.  Not a big deal, since the play option works.

Actually, I was doing my "final" troubleshooting while writing the email, and figured that I would leave it all in there so that if someone else comes up with a similar problem, there's a known solution. Primarily that loadDVD in the wrong folder can cause odd behavior. I still haven't figured out how that happened, or why loadDVD loads when its loaded in the wrong folder, but it happens... Oh - to clarify, my old v2 installation was in c:/program.../DVD Profiler and when I installed v3, I put it into .../DVD Profiler 3 just in case I wanted to go back. loadDVD installed into /DVD Profiler by default.

I'll use the play option on the "production" machine. Now to figure out how to create a field for the videos I'm, um, "evaluating"    before purchase, and those I'm saving off satellite, so that I can keep track of which ones are not from my physical disc collection.
Thanks for the feedback. The installation process does set a default directory, but you can change it. Most people breeze by that window so fast (me included!). Also, the way DVDPro works is that it will pick up the plugin no matter where it is - so long as the plugin in registered. When the plugin is running, it tries to figure out where it is - and that is where the confusion may arise, when you have two copies installed. I'll look into it to see if I can reproduce the problem.

So far as options for saving file info, you have lots: you can create additional discs, which are just placeholders for file references (you can pass info from Notes, DescriptionA or Location), or you can use TAGS to indicate that the profile itself belongs to a specific set, or HTML pages - I just learned that some guys have figured out how to play videos from there as well. When I get time, I will probably work up an HTML page that uses the same data as LoadDVD, so that people have more options. The file associations monster "bytes" you no matter what technique you use though ...

Good luck, and I'm glad you are deriving some value from my efforts.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantgrob
Registered: August 15, 2007
Posts: 11
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Hello all,
in a previous thread Mediadogg had helped me out with the "play from disk" bat file. In the end I used the command
@echo off
cmd /C %6

This worked just fine with PowerDVD when the ifo files were on the same computer. I have just set up a network, and all the video files are now moved over to a computer in another room (for noise reasons). However I could not get the network to understand the opening of ifo files. By sheer flukery I changed the batch file over to
@echo off
%6
(that was the other suggestion, originally from Mediadogg)
It works a treat!
So as soon as you need a "\\" in your filepath name make sure you use the
@echo off
%6
bat file.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantVTETAZ
Registered: October 4, 2007
Posts: 21
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Hi everyone

I'm sorry if i'm boring

But I wrote:

- "file" into "location field"
- I let "slot field" blank
- [filepath]H:\Média\Vidéos\Comedie\Bande annonce de American dreamz.mkv[/filepath] into "notes field"

and the trailer doesn't start but this error message appears "please check file path and file association and retry"

Then I wrote:

- "play" instead "file" into "location field"

and nothing happens

is there anyone who cans help me
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,246
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting VTETAZ:
Quote:
Hi everyone

I'm sorry if i'm boring

But I wrote:

- "file" into "location field"
- I let "slot field" blank
- [filepath]H:\Média\Vidéos\Comedie\Bande annonce de American dreamz.mkv[/filepath] into "notes field"

and the trailer doesn't start but this error message appears "please check file path and file association and retry"

Then I wrote:

- "play" instead "file" into "location field"

and nothing happens

is there anyone who cans help me
I wrote the exact solution in the other forum already, and it is also explained at least twice in this thread. Could you perhaps read it once again? In fact the answer is in the post just before yours ... I went back and read your post from the other forum. I think your confusion is that you do not know about "BAT" files scripting. I suggest you find a friend that does, and that person will immediately know what to do when they read the information that we have given.

Edit: I see that what I thought I wrote got lost before. When my browser refreshed, I thought the post went in but it didn't. So here is the answer:

(1) Create a new text file and rename it to  "PlayFromFile.bat"  (if you don't know how to do this, ask a friend)

(2) Copy and paste the following into that file:

@echo off
cmd /C %6

(3) Copy the file into the DVDProfiler \plugins\LoadDVD folder. You will overlay the sample that is already there.

Now it should work.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,246
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting DVDmaven:
Quote:
I'll use the play option on the "production" machine. Now to figure out how to create a field for the videos I'm, um, "evaluating"    before purchase, and those I'm saving off satellite, so that I can keep track of which ones are not from my physical disc collection.
You're aware of "Tags" I'm sure. Also, if you need a parameter to pass to a BAT file, you can always put a tag in the Location. All text after the "play" token is passed to PlayFromDisk.bat, so you can make up your own parameters. Also, you can embed tags in the DescriptionA or DiscLabelA fields. Those fields are also passed to PlayFromDisk.bat.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantVTETAZ
Registered: October 4, 2007
Posts: 21
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mediadogg:
Quote:
Quoting VTETAZ:
Quote:
Hi everyone

I wrote the exact solution in the other forum already, and it is also explained at least twice in the thread. Could you perhaps read it once again? In fact the answer is in the post just before yours ...


Sorry

It's too complicated for me ... I will looking for another plug-in
Thanks
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,246
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting VTETAZ:
Quote:

Sorry

It's too complicated for me ... I will looking for another plug-in
Thanks
Good decision, although I can't understand why you would give up after requesting and receiving the answer in great detail.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantVTETAZ
Registered: October 4, 2007
Posts: 21
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
'cause your answer doesn't work by me or I don't understant them, but thanks for all and doesn't matter I will use an easier plugin
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,246
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting VTETAZ:
Quote:
'cause your answer doesn't work by me or I don't understant them, but thanks for all and doesn't matter I will use an easier plugin
I don't believe that you actually tried it. Be honest, did you actually do that simple three step procedure?
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantVTETAZ
Registered: October 4, 2007
Posts: 21
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
I all ready said what I've done...

But your answers was "see to... or to ... " and never a simple answer
to say me how I can do to load and play a trailer from your plugin

I wrote:

- "file" into "location field"
- I let "slot field" blank
- [filepath]H:\Média\Vidéos\Comedie\Bande annonce de American dreamz.mkv[/filepath] into "notes field"

and the trailer doesn't start but this error message appears "please check file path and file association and retry"

Then I wrote:

- "play" instead "file" into "location field"

and nothing happens

then I modify PlayFromDisc.bat

@echo off
%6
rem %1 DescriptionSideA
rem %2 profileid - this is usually the UPS code
rem %3 disc#
rem %4 slot#
rem %5 LabelSideA
rem %6 filepath
rem %7 mediatype = "DVD", "HD" or "BluRay"
rem %8 and thereafter - remainder of Location field
if %7=="DVD" echo %6
if %7=="HD" echo Do whatever for an HD disc
if %7=="BluRay" echo C:\Program Files\Media Player Classic\mplayerc.exe %6



and nothing happen
but don't worry be happy 
thank you a lot for all you did
but there's no answer
and I let down
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantVTETAZ
Registered: October 4, 2007
Posts: 21
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
ok right good nice great I happy thanks maddog 

I modify playfromdisk like that:

@echo off
%6
rem %1 DescriptionSideA
rem %2 profileid - this is usually the UPS code
rem %3 disc#
rem %4 slot#
rem %5 LabelSideA
rem  %6 filepath  embedded in the Notes field
rem %7 mediatype = "DVD", "HD" or "BluRay"
rem %8 and thereafter - remainder of Location field
if %7=="DVD" echo %6
if %7=="HD" echo Do whatever for an HD disc
if %7=="BluRay" echo C:\Program Files\Media Player Classic\mplayerc.exe %6

and i write "play/s" instead "play"

and it's works great

thanks for your job C U
if you come in Switzerland I will introduce the hot twins 
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,246
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting VTETAZ:
Quote:
and i write "play/s" instead "play"

and it's works great

thanks for your job C U
if you come in Switzerland I will introduce the hot twins 
See what happens when you don't give up! Yaay! 

With play/s, I think you are seeing an annoying window. Go back to play, and the window should go away, and it will still work. Thanks for being honest.

And I'm buying my ticket now. Get the twins ready ... 
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantgrob
Registered: August 15, 2007
Posts: 11
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Possibly straight to you Mediadogg.....
is there a keyboard shortcut(s) for the play/retrieve button? I am at the early stages of playing with Girder files, and setting up a remote.
regards
GrantR

Sorry, I pressed the wrong button and had this post, originally, in the general plugin section.........
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,246
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting grob:
Quote:
Possibly straight to you Mediadogg.....
is there a keyboard shortcut(s) for the play/retrieve button? I am at the early stages of playing with Girder files, and setting up a remote.
regards
GrantR

Sorry, I pressed the wrong button and had this post, originally, in the general plugin section.........
Can you help me with "Girder" and what that has to do with shortcuts? Normally I would research it myself, but I'm in the midst of coding ... could use a little info boost ...
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantgrob
Registered: August 15, 2007
Posts: 11
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Girder files seems to be a bit of a generic term for remote control codes. For instance you can use a MCE remote control, fiddle with stuff by using a program for instance from HIP (http://www.byremote.com.au/)  that allows that remote to control any application you want. eg after say 200ms it will know that the active program is DVDProfiler and that all remote control keys are now used to operate that program. In the case in point, for instance, hitting the "play" key on the remote will call up your bat file to start up PowerDVD (for the chosen movie) and in 200ms the remote starts controlling PowerDVD. But of course a keyboard shortcut is needed for each action in each program that you want to control.
In the case of your plugin perhaps it could be "ctrl+p+1" for disk1, "ctrl+p+2" for the second disk under that title etc etc.
Please note I have no connection with HIP- I am way too much of a noob!!!
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1... 3 4 5 6 7 ...52  Previous   Next