Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
One remote to rule them all!
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorbob9000
safety word?
Registered: March 13, 2007
Canada Posts: 844
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
For fun I lined up all of the remotes from current components in my home theatre set-up that my Harmony replaces. It made me laugh. 

All of this:


Becomes this:


To be fair I still use the Microsoft IR keyboard on a regular basis, but it much more dramatic to include it with the others. 

Join in the fun and post your many remotes remotes and the solution you use to manage them.
 Last edited: by bob9000
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorSrehtims
Registered: March 13, 2007
United States Posts: 1,796
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Your kidding, I have enough trouble finding the right one ehrn I need it.
We don't need stinkin' IMDB's errors, we make our own.
Ineptocracy, You got to love it.
"Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power." - Abraham Lincoln
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributordee1959jay
Registered: March 19, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
Netherlands Posts: 5,900
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Impressive, Bob! My own Harmony One replaces around eight of them, but I have to confess that for some specific functions I occasionally still grab one of the original ones. Still learning though.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantEdwinK
Registered: May 27, 2007
Netherlands Posts: 686
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting dee1959jay:
Quote:
Impressive, Bob! My own Harmony One replaces around eight of them, but I have to confess that for some specific functions I occasionally still grab one of the original ones. Still learning though.


I do the same, although most of the options I need are in the Harmony, some times it's easier to just grab the original remote, and then hoping that the batteries still work
Unfortunately, I can't use DVDprofiler at the moment due to lack of a Windows computer.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKulju
Registered: March 14, 2007
Finland Posts: 2,337
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
My weapon of choice: Philips Pronto RU950.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributoriPatsa
Zzzzzzz
Registered: March 13, 2007
Sweden Posts: 2,972
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote


I have 7 of these remotes programmed into my Harmony. The 8th (white) is for my new ASUS Eee Box which I'm mostly operating with the wireless keyboard and mouse so I haven't bothered to transfer it yet.
Patrik
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantChazcdc54
Registered: March 19, 2007
United States Posts: 296
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Bob, which Harmony do you have? I don't recognize it. I have the One which replaced my 880 and was a great improvement. Those 880 buttons were ludicrous and the "intermittent" charger was a joke. 
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorbob9000
safety word?
Registered: March 13, 2007
Canada Posts: 844
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
It is the 720. It apparently is already a couple years old, but you can still find it at various retailers. I guess it is considered a legacy product now by Logitech.

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/440/370&hub=1&selectedcrid=0&selectedcid=370&cl=us,en

I bought it on Boxing Day for $79.99 CDN which was a sweet deal considering:

http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?sku_id=0665000FS10115933&catid=25336&logon=&langid=EN

Features are about the same as the 880, but with a better design IMHO and it can only control 12 devices, not 15.
 Last edited: by bob9000
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorwidescreenforever
Under A Double DoubleW
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 5,366
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
My one & only remote I'll ever need ...


In the 60's, People took Acid to make the world Weird. Now the World is weird and People take Prozac to make it Normal.

Terry
 Last edited: by widescreenforever
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantBill MacNeill
Bill
Registered: March 13, 2007
United States Posts: 356
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I had this same remote on a Black and White Zenith. Round picture tube and the TV had 2 - 13 only for channels. NO UHF. We got 2 PBS, 4 NBC, 5 ABC, and 7 CBS. 4 channels and there was always something to watch. I remeberer the sound the tv made when the dial spun when pressing the channel button on the remote. Almost like a chugging sound.

Quoting widescreenforever:
Quote:
My one & only remote I'll ever need ...


 Last edited: by Bill MacNeill
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorwidescreenforever
Under A Double DoubleW
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 5,366
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
The remote worked off of a spring loaded button ( two), and the spring threw a small  piece of Lead up against another piece of solid metal that then created a 'tone' that the TV knew to change either the channel or the sound,, (that's all we needed in those days) .
Well one night My mom was sitting at the dining room table , maybe 15 feet away from our Zenith 17" color set, and she was counting her tips from the change she made as a waitress, and the clinking of the coins as she scooped them off the table into her hand changed the channel.. !! 
We all laughed and never to this day Have I forgotten that night .
In the 60's, People took Acid to make the world Weird. Now the World is weird and People take Prozac to make it Normal.

Terry
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantEdwinK
Registered: May 27, 2007
Netherlands Posts: 686
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
OMG. Am I really that old that I can actually remember those remotes.  At least ours had more buttons.
Unfortunately, I can't use DVDprofiler at the moment due to lack of a Windows computer.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantFredLooks
phpDVDProfilerDude D5/7/2
Registered: March 13, 2007
Canada Posts: 350
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Meh. When I was little, my remote control was my younger sister ...

"Hey sis, are you busy, I need you"
"What?"
"Can you change the channel for me?"

Oddly, this didn't get me beaten ...
-fred
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantDr. Killpatient
Here's my card
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,840
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
When I was a kid, I was the remote.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKathy
Registered: May 29, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 3,415
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Dr. Killpatient:
Quote:
When I was a kid, I was the remote.





I still am the remote! I don't use a remote for the TV. I still prefer to get up and change the channels, vol. etc. manually. The only remote I ever use is the one for the DVD player when I need to pause a DVD. If there was a pause button on the machine I wouldn't need a remote at all!
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantI-Fling-Poo
Game over man!
Registered: December 22, 2008
Canada Posts: 76
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Kathy:
Quote:



I still am the remote! I don't use a remote for the TV. I still prefer to get up and change the channels, vol. etc. manually. The only remote I ever use is the one for the DVD player when I need to pause a DVD. If there was a pause button on the machine I wouldn't need a remote at all!


Wait a second...  Are you saying that you actually GET UP from your sitting position, actually WALK to the television, change the channel, then WALK back to your chair, and SIT DOWN again?

I've heard of this sequence of events happening regularly many years ago, but surely people these days can avoid this entirely unnecessary physical activity!  I say put a stop to it NOW!  If this kind of behaviour continues unabated, what will become of the human race?

(typed from my bluetooth keyboard while having my fat ass firmly planted on the couch!)



Poo
    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1 2  Previous   Next