Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler iOS: iOS Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
Unable to connect - Mac using Parallels
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantstevenc23
Registered: July 7, 2009
Posts: 1
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Unable to connect using Parallels 5
                                  Mac OS 10.6.5
                                  iPhone 4
                        DVD Profiler 3.7.0 on Windows XP in Parallels 5

I have tried via wifi and internet with both name and I.P. address

When I try "test" for internet connectivity I also get unable to connect - Your collection is not accessible from the Internet.  But if I go to options Test Internet connection I get "success"
Windows firewall is "off"

Any changes I need to make in parallels?

Thanks
 Last edited: by stevenc23
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantdcpoppy
Registered: August 3, 2007
Posts: 8
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
+1 on Parallels 6.  Cannot connect via test using external IP, or via iPhone using wifi local IP or external IP.  Windows firewall and Mac firewall are both turned off.  I also get success testing my internet connection from the virtual machine.

Boo-urns. 
 Last edited: by dcpoppy
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantdcpoppy
Registered: August 3, 2007
Posts: 8
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
So, I noticed that my ethernet card under Mac OS has a 192.168.1.x address, while the virtual card under Parallels has a 10.211.55.x address.  My iPhone is on 192.168.1.x - are the different subnets part of the problem?
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantnuoyaxin
prev. known as ya_shin
Registered: March 13, 2007
Taiwan, Province of China Posts: 3,406
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I use VMWare, but it's basically the same thing.

For me at least, I had to first configure VMWare to use the AirPort wireless controller, as thie internal connection to the Mac OS X will not allow you to reach Windows. Basically I know have to local network connections in windows, one being the one that is piggy-backed on the OS X connection and another one directly using the wireless controller. Naturally the Windows part will claim it's own IP from the router, different to the one used by the OS X system.
Achim [Ya-Shin//Nuo]
Registered: May 29, 2000 (at InterVocative)
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantdcpoppy
Registered: August 3, 2007
Posts: 8
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Thanks Achim, enabling AirPort wireless and choosing that as bridged rather than the shared ethernet resulted in an IP on the rest of my subnet, and subsequently a viable connection.
 Last edited: by dcpoppy
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantdcpoppy
Registered: August 3, 2007
Posts: 8
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Also, I was able to turn wireless back off by switching to ethernet bridged.  So, it would appear that the culprit was using a shared connection rather than bridged.  Stevenc23, hopefully that works for you too.
Invelos Software, Inc. RepresentativeKen Cole
Invelos Software
Registered: March 10, 2007
United States Posts: 4,281
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Thanks ya_shin, my Mac fu is weak.   Greenies to ya!
Invelos Software, Inc. Representative
 Last edited: by Ken Cole
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantmatthew.s.w
Registered: January 31, 2010
Posts: 1
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I must be missing something... I've tried this and am still having problems. Can someone walk me through it?
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantenchntr
Registered: April 5, 2007
Posts: 1
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Using VMWare (Parallels has something similar).

In the settings of the VM (not Windows), change your network settings from NAT to bridged.  You are currently translating your "physical" local IP to another IP, and double NATing.  Let the VM bridge to the normal network and get a normal IP for the VM from your router.  You will then be able to have it connect with no problem.

This will require a reboot of the VM, or at least a disable/re-enable of the network card.

Ed
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantdcpoppy
Registered: August 3, 2007
Posts: 8
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
On Paralells, exit coherence if you are in it.  At the bottom of the Windows window, you should see a spider web icon.  Click on the spider web, choose bridged network, and whatever method you are using to connect to the internets (ethernet, AirPort).  I didn't have to restart my virtual machine - the status information at the bottom of DVD Profiler updated with the new IP address, and when I put that in my iPhone - voila.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantmichaelzrork
Film Geek
Registered: September 30, 2008
Posts: 81
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Looks like this is working for me as well.

Heads up to those trying, the "test connection" still won't show the correct IP address; you'll have to find it in the status bar at the bottom of DVD Profiler.

Though, while it is connecting, it's sitting on sending changes for a very long time and then the app is closing. It's happened over and over again. I've got about 170 movies in the app, and the desktop is showing 60 of them.
Invelos Software, Inc. RepresentativeKen Cole
Invelos Software
Registered: March 10, 2007
United States Posts: 4,281
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
The 'test connection' shows the IP address of your system on the Internet.  DVD Profiler shows your local computer's IP address on your local network.
Invelos Software, Inc. Representative
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantmichaelzrork
Film Geek
Registered: September 30, 2008
Posts: 81
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I'm continuing to have the app crash on me when I attempt to sync via Parallels for Mac.

I'm currently attempting to sync with Wifi and typing in the local IP address. It does the first step of connecting, then fails while "sending". Twice now (I started a new database on DVD Profiler) it send the first 60 movies in my catalog and then stops.

Any tips from anyone on what I can do differently?

I tried changing the port from default to 8080 and I get the same results: connects, but fails at sending.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantmekon76
Registered: May 23, 2007
Australia Posts: 2
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
enchntr, thank you. Works a treat.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantkensong
Registered: March 16, 2009
Malaysia Posts: 121
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting dcpoppy:
Quote:
On Paralells, exit coherence if you are in it.  At the bottom of the Windows window, you should see a spider web icon.  Click on the spider web, choose bridged network, and whatever method you are using to connect to the internets (ethernet, AirPort).  I didn't have to restart my virtual machine - the status information at the bottom of DVD Profiler updated with the new IP address, and when I put that in my iPhone - voila.


Thanks dcpoppy. Worked perfectly! I had to restart Parallels though for this to work. Now I can dump my PC which I bought just for DVDProfiler.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantmoviemoghul
Movie Moghul
Registered: June 7, 2007
United States Posts: 4
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
When running DVDProfiler on MacOSX-Parallels6, the VM should have following settings:

1. Open Parallels but do NOT invoke the VM yet, as it will start Win7.
2. Parallels Desktop >> Virtual Machine >> Configure
3. Options Tab >> Start and Shutdown >>Startup View >> Window
4. Hardware Tab >> Network >> Select Actual LAN-Internet such as Airport/Ethernet01
5. Check "Send machine's MAC Address to DHCP Server.

NOTE: Network should NOT be default "Shared" but set to actual Airport/Ethernet adapter on MacOSX.
Why?
When set to shared, Parallels6 uses IP mapping and assigns from its own range. This can be viewed at:

Parallels Desktop >> Preferences >> Advanced Tab >> Network >> Change Settings
where Parallels assigns a new IP from 10.211.55.1 to 10.211.55.254

Due to IP mapping, iOS-iPad-DVDProfiler cannot communicate with Win7-DVDProfiler. When NOT shared, the VM sends the MAC Address directly to DHCP and the Win7 is assigned an IP number from the Dynamic range automatically by your network.

(There is a solution to change IP assignment from Dynamic to Static in your Router). But that solution is neither elegant nor for the faint of heart - meaning, useless for non-geeks, which is 99% of the customers.

NOTE: Remember to change the IP address on the Database Settings in iOS-iPad DVDProfiler EVERYTIME you have closed & re-started Win7, as this will assign a new IP number.

(If anyone wants to edit the instructions, please edit the ENTIRE instruction and re-post please. We do not want a one line correction among 20 responses to sift through) -- A common problem in Forum postings.

End.
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler iOS: iOS Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next