Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler Android: Android Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
"Update Database" stuck on Updating/Connecting
Author Message
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorVoltaire53
Missed again!
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United Kingdom Posts: 2,284
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting rdodolak:
Quote:
You may also want to try changing the server from the server name to the IP address.  My setup was having issues finding the server by server name but was able to immediately find it by IP address.


I got the same... just hung looking for the name but was immediately connecting to the IP; though for some reason it  thought for a while there were 2 connected devices...
It is dangerous to be right in matters where established men are wrong
 Last edited: by Voltaire53
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantpauls42
Reg: 31/01/2003
Registered: March 13, 2007
United Kingdom Posts: 2,692
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Voltaire53:
Quote:
Quoting rdodolak:
Quote:
You may also want to try changing the server from the server name to the IP address.  My setup was having issues finding the server by server name but was able to immediately find it by IP address.


I got the same... just hung looking for the name but was immediately connecting to the IP; though for some reason it  thought for a while there were 2 connected devices...


when I had the IOS version I had exactly the same issue - the server name wouldn't work - only the explicit IP address of the PC..
Paul
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorhuskersports
Registered: September 29, 2008
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 2,037
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Solved!  I logged in to the router page and, on the port forwarding tab, added the IP address of the PHONE, not the computer! I had been adding the IP address of the PC whenever prompted (including on the port forwarding page, at first).  Seems so simple now. D'oh!
My one wish for the DVD Profiler online database: Ban or remove the disc-level profiles of TV season sets. It completely screws up/inflates the CLT.
FACT: Imdb is WRONG 70% of the time! Misspelled cast, incomplete cast, wrong cast/crew roles. So for those who want DVD Profiler to be "as perfect as Imdb", good luck with that.
Stop adding UNIT crew! They're invalid credits. Stop it!
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantEvo2Me
Registered: March 15, 2007
Posts: 128
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Like many others I had the same problem. After working on it from various angles, most leading to no solution, for the past four days now, I got DVD Profiler/Android and DVDP/Windows finally connected and downloading.

The major stumbling block seems to have been my VPN. DVDP/W showed me the VPN's IP, which didn't work with DVDP/A as it is not the same as my computer's, obviously. Using the computers IP DVDP/A didn't find the computer, using the computer's IP DVDP/A couldn't get to DVDP/W because it needed the VPN's IP.

That's one reason I want to use the computer's name, which would also be sensible if my router assigns another IP to it. The moment I switched off the VPN and put in the computer's [current] IP DVDP/A and DVDP/W connected and downloading the DB went smoothly.

Is it possible, Ken, to implement the Connect to PC feature such that it works even if a VPN is switched on?
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantDavidEC
Wii#0441-6820-0158-3757
Registered: March 16, 2007
United States Posts: 154
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
OK here is how I finally got my data base to sync!
I copied my images data base to another folder to keep my HI DEF images.
Then using "Caesium" Version: 1.5.0
I resized all the images the same size that was the maximum size of the screen of my device, which in my case was  800 X 600  with "Keep Aspect Ratio" and "Do no enlarge" boxes checked and set the compression rate to 95% and let it do its thing to all images in my data base... maybe I had a bad image or the like?? But when it got done my Android 4.02 device was able to sync and download all the images with out any troubles and they look just fine on my tablet since they are being reduced in size even more when displayed on my screen.
When I got done I renamed the folder and copied my Original HI DEG folder back into place for use on my PC.. I will have to wait and see with any new updates to see what happens then... But at least I got my device to update.
Growing older is mandatory...Growing up is optional...
"Time spent with cats is never wasted." - Sigmund Freud
 Last edited: by DavidEC
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Evo2me

As a suggestion have your router route anything on the DVDP port to your DVDP/W box and assign it a static IP.

I would think that would fix your issue.

-R
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantsmerryfield
Registered: March 16, 2007
Posts: 31
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting rdodolak:
Quote:
You may also want to try changing the server from the server name to the IP address.  My setup was having issues finding the server by server name but was able to immediately find it by IP address.


This worked for me. It would not resolve the server name, even though the connection tested okay. Once I changed to the IP address, the update worked.
Scott
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantLammo
Registered: May 31, 2007
United States Posts: 4
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting rdodolak:
Quote:
You may also want to try changing the server from the server name to the IP address.  My setup was having issues finding the server by server name but was able to immediately find it by IP address.


Thanks, using the IP address instead of the name did the trick.
Lammo
- - - - - - - -
Crime never takes a holiday.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantJoeH
Registered: August 11, 2007
Posts: 4
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I also had a very difficult time getting the connection setup properly. Turning on port forwarding on my Netgear firewall for the UDP Port 32847 and using the ip address instead of the computer name finally did the trick. Took a couple of hours of fooling around to get it to work. If not for this forum I probably would not have be able to get it to connect. Thanks to all the wisdom of the community, I can now have my collection once again on my phone 
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantjhs39
Registered: May 25, 2007
Posts: 7
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I had to open port 32847 on my computer to get the android app and windows program to communicate.  My question--is it actually safe to do this?  Am I opening up my computer to hackers or malware or anything by leaving a port permanently open to incoming and outgoing traffic?
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantJoeH
Registered: August 11, 2007
Posts: 4
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I think the risk is fairly minimal. In any case, a good up to date virus scanner should be running on your computer and will stop most malware and viruses or at least warn you that something bad is trying to infect your computer. I have found the most effective means to prevent this is to be careful of what websites you are visiting and not click on email links or open email attachments that are from sources that you do not know or are expecting an attachment from.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantjhs39
Registered: May 25, 2007
Posts: 7
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Thanks for the reply.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributoriPatsa
Aficionado since 1999
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Sweden Posts: 3,049
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
If your router allows it you can open up the port for connections on the local network only, thus preventing any outside connections from using or even seeing the open port.
Patrik
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantjhs39
Registered: May 25, 2007
Posts: 7
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting iPatsa:
Quote:
If your router allows it you can open up the port for connections on the local network only, thus preventing any outside connections from using or even seeing the open port.


Windows 7 firewall has an option like that when you open the port but I had trouble getting my phone and computer to connect so I changed it to all traffic.  I'll try and change it back to local network when I get the chance and see if I can get it to work.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorhuskersports
Registered: September 29, 2008
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 2,037
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
OK. I bought a new desktop and am having the same issue. I can't remember what I did last time to get it to work. I looked at the setup guide, put the IP address of the phone in the "Grant Access to" space, and the server IP of the computer in the "Server" line on my phone. I used the same password for the Change, View and password lines on my computer and phone, respectively. Help! (again).
My one wish for the DVD Profiler online database: Ban or remove the disc-level profiles of TV season sets. It completely screws up/inflates the CLT.
FACT: Imdb is WRONG 70% of the time! Misspelled cast, incomplete cast, wrong cast/crew roles. So for those who want DVD Profiler to be "as perfect as Imdb", good luck with that.
Stop adding UNIT crew! They're invalid credits. Stop it!
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler Android: Android Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next