Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler Android: Android Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
Android App Version 1.1.3 build 45
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quote:
Why is it every once in a while I can't update my phone app. when I use "Connect to DVD Profiler for PC"
Too many variables.
No answer possible.
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
 Last edited: by Lewis_Prothero
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantFingerlakes Dave
Registered: April 6, 2007
United States Posts: 426
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Orici:
Quote:
Why is it every once in a while I can't update my phone app. when I use "Connect to DVD Profiler for PC"


I've noticed that every now and then the IP address changes in DVD Profiler on the PC. It's the first place I check. Run the connection test (? - sorry I don't have the program open) and see if the IP address has changed.
If not, reboot your phone and try again?
Best I can do
Good luck.
HTC Droid Incredible 2, not rooted, Gingerbread 2.3.5, 768 or 1gig internal (?), 32 gig SD card
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorOrici
Registered: May 18, 2007
United States Posts: 386
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I checked the IP address using Ipconfig and it matches the server and port on the phone and matches what is on my home PC

I also rebooted the phone with no luck
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantFingerlakes Dave
Registered: April 6, 2007
United States Posts: 426
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Orici:
Quote:
I checked the IP address using Ipconfig and it matches the server and port on the phone and matches what is on my home PC

I also rebooted the phone with no luck


Firewall or AV blocking because it's a new version? (I'm guessing at this point).
HTC Droid Incredible 2, not rooted, Gingerbread 2.3.5, 768 or 1gig internal (?), 32 gig SD card
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorbbbbb
on steroids
Registered: March 14, 2007
Posts: 5,734
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Fingerlakes Dave:
Quote:
I've noticed that every now and then the IP address changes in DVD Profiler on the PC.

?! DVD Profiler never changes the IP address of the PC.
Don't confuse while the film is playing with when the film is played. [Ken Cole, DVD Profiler Architect]
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantFingerlakes Dave
Registered: April 6, 2007
United States Posts: 426
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting bbbbb:
Quote:
Quoting Fingerlakes Dave:
Quote:
I've noticed that every now and then the IP address changes in DVD Profiler on the PC.

?! DVD Profiler never changes the IP address of the PC.

OK. True. But Windows pulling a new IP address is the same effect. It may have been phrased icorrectly. The concept was conveyed.
HTC Droid Incredible 2, not rooted, Gingerbread 2.3.5, 768 or 1gig internal (?), 32 gig SD card
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorCharlieM
Registered Sept 5 2005
Registered: May 20, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 2,934
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Fingerlakes Dave:
Quote:
Quoting bbbbb:
Quote:
Quoting Fingerlakes Dave:
Quote:
I've noticed that every now and then the IP address changes in DVD Profiler on the PC.

?! DVD Profiler never changes the IP address of the PC.

OK. True. But Windows pulling a new IP address is the same effect. It may have been phrased icorrectly. The concept was conveyed.


Go into the network properties, and tell the computer to pull the same IP address each time. 

Charlie
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantFingerlakes Dave
Registered: April 6, 2007
United States Posts: 426
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting CharlieM:
Quote:
Quoting Fingerlakes Dave:
Quote:
Quoting bbbbb:
Quote:
Quoting Fingerlakes Dave:
Quote:
I've noticed that every now and then the IP address changes in DVD Profiler on the PC.

?! DVD Profiler never changes the IP address of the PC.

OK. True. But Windows pulling a new IP address is the same effect. It may have been phrased icorrectly. The concept was conveyed.


Go into the network properties, and tell the computer to pull the same IP address each time. 

Charlie


I don't know how. Not my forte.
HTC Droid Incredible 2, not rooted, Gingerbread 2.3.5, 768 or 1gig internal (?), 32 gig SD card
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting CharlieM:
Quote:

Go into the network properties, and tell the computer to pull the same IP address each time.


Not a too good idea, since this might cause severe connectivity problems if the IP is used otherwise, or if the computer gets connected to another network with different subnet..
The better way is to attach the IP in the router's configuration menu.
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorVoltaire53
Missed again!
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United Kingdom Posts: 2,284
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting SH84:
Quote:
Much easier: It's at the bottom of your Profiler window (im my case 192.168.178.25).


Oddly I get that on the instance of DVDP I run on my desktop PC but the instance I run on my laptop doesn't display that (annoying as the laptop is my main PC now)... do you know if there is a DVDP (or other) setting I have to make so it displays the computer's IP address.
It is dangerous to be right in matters where established men are wrong
 Last edited: by Voltaire53
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
You'd have to enable "Sharing"
Menu: Tools -> Options -> Sharing
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler Android: Android Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next