Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1  Previous   Next
Online profile list
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantjjom
Registered: February 20, 2011
Portugal Posts: 64
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Is there any way I can not update the database on my laptop online?
I do not want to go get any information online.
Is inhibition possible?
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLithurge
Paralysis by analysis
Registered: March 13, 2007
Posts: 1,213
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
The only way you can avoid using the online database is a bodge that means you will have to enter all the details for any disc you want to add yourself. So if you're asking can you get an offline version of the full database for your laptop the answer is no.

If you are happy to enter all the details yourself the bodge is to disconnect your PC from the internet, click add to collection as normal, ok the error messages. Then in the bottom of the add window you'll see a tickbox "download from invelos". Untick that and you can manually add any title you want without it downloading from the database.
IVS Registered: January 2, 2002
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorCubbyUps
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,063
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
As far as I know you have to have the online profile list downloaded in order to add profiles into your local database.

But once done, you don't have to keep your computer attached to the internet.
And just do as Lithurge said.

I didn't have direct internet access for my desktop for over a year and was able to still add profiles into my local database. Once I was back online I updated all of those profiles.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantjjom
Registered: February 20, 2011
Portugal Posts: 64
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I never use, nor have I ever used the information online.
I want to avoid this situation:

Floating Point Error, or missing text on buttons.
This error can also be caused by a corrupted online profile list file.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,302
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting jjom:
Quote:
I never use, nor have I ever used the information online.
I want to avoid this situation:

Floating Point Error, or missing text on buttons.
This error can also be caused by a corrupted online profile list file.

That's a ridiculous attitude. Why not avoid all problems and not use the program at all? You agree that would be nonsense.

And you do use the online information, whether you know it or not. Where do you think the data comes from?
If you don't want to update your information from the online, then just don't do it. I personally do it only when I want to. Nothing forces you do do the online update. You can also "lock" profiles to protect them.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantjjom
Registered: February 20, 2011
Portugal Posts: 64
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
You are lucky, since the information always exists in English.
I as a Portuguese have to put ALL the information.
I do not want to, nor will I want information online that does not interest me.
I'm the one who posts ALL the information, I do not take ANYTHING from online in my collection of 1700 entries.
I was just wondering if that was possible.
I have already seen that not.
If there is a "corrupted online profile list file", everyone using this list has problems
 Last edited: by jjom
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,302
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting jjom:
Quote:
You are lucky, since the information always exists in English.
I as a Portuguese have to put ALL the information.
I do not want to, nor will I want information online that does not interest me.
I'm the one who posts ALL the information, I do not take ANYTHING from online in my collection of 1700 entries.
I was just wondering if that was possible.
I have already seen that not.
If there is a "corrupted online profile list file", everyone using this list has problems

I really wish you could adopt a different attitude. I told you long ago that I was motivated to help you, but you insist on resisting any information other than exactly what you want to hear. In 10 years of using DVD Profiler, I have never had a "corrupted online profile list file." And even if mine was corrupted, it was a problem on my PC and did not affect anybody else.

(1) I already told you, you can lock profiles if you want to keep your information from being changed by the online. You are WRONG. You can do that.

(2) You are confusing the design of the program that uses the online profile list, with whether or not you, as a person, uses the online metadata. You don't have to use the metadata, but the program is designed to use that file. Get over it.

Here is a silly example: you buy a car. You don't plan to drive it - but you love to use it in other ways, You will push it yourself if you want to move it. You don't like to buy gas.

BUT, the car was designed to use gas. When you go for repairs, or to get inspection, you need gas to get that done. That is the way the car works.

So, either live with the fact that DVD Profiler was designed to use the online profile list file even though you personally don't need the online data, or go find another program to use. Simple as that.

Are you open minded enough to take a look at my logic and respond?
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorCubbyUps
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,063
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting jjom:
Quote:
I never use, nor have I ever used the information online.
I want to avoid this situation:

Floating Point Error, or missing text on buttons.
This error can also be caused by a corrupted online profile list file.


And that's your right, if you so choose.

I've been using DVDProfiler for many years now and I can't ever recall ever having missing text on buttons. Sure, I've had to do database repairs and in very rare cases had to reinstall the program to solve a problem. But since I kept a backup I didn't have much of a problem getting restarted.

I think once or twice I had some sort of corrupted online profile list, but that wasn't due to the Invelos site but more likely something with my computer. If the online profile list file was so corrupted users would be reporting massive amounts of complaints and errors.

But as I tried to point out, the online profile list file is needed to add profiles into your database. But it's not required that you download any profiles from the online database. Just uncheck that box and the vast majority of the profile will be blank. I think the only things that are included when you uncheck that box is the title, release date and SRP. No covers, no cast or crew, no overview. Basically a very bare bones profile.

I see that you often mention problems with the online profile list file, could you define what you mean by this.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,302
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Oh, and one more thing. It is your choice not to accept English as a way to use DVD Profiler. I truly wish I could speak every language. I respect all people and cultures. But my native language is English, and I know a little bit of some others to be able to enjoy cultures where they are spoken in a better way.

Part of my family is Portuguese. I know a lot of Portuguese people. My Granddaughter speaks both English and Portuguese. You can choose to reject English if you want - no problem. But I disagree that "as a Portuguese have to ...". You just WANT to - and that is perfectly fine.

It just means that it limits the ability to share your good work with others, or take advantage of what others have done. But again, that is your choice and I totally respect it. I just disagree that you MUST do it that way, just because your native language is not English.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1  Previous   Next