Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1  Previous   Next
Trying to get new Netgear wireless router to work with my Blu-Ray player
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorCubbyUps
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,245
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
There is a new wireless router and it says I am connected, but it isn't really.

In the other room is a new Netgear N600 WNDR3700 router with wireless capability.
I've got the passwords and entered them into the player and it says success, but I'm getting a notice saying that I don't have a properly configured internet connection.

Under IP Settings and then Link Status it has "Acquiring IP Address".

The IP Mode is Dynamic. The IP Address, Subnet Mask and Gateway just has 0000 under them.

When I do a Network Test I get the following.
Connection to 0000...successfully established.
Reaching www.somewhere.com...could not be established
Please check you connection and try again.

I was able to connect through the old router, which didn't have WPS. But not with this one.

So is it one of the following.
1. Settings on the router?
2. The other computer that controls the internet/router has to be configured to allow wireless internet via the router.
 Last edited: by CubbyUps
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorCharlieM
Registered Sept 5 2005
Registered: May 20, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 2,934
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Are you connecting from Netgear to (internet modem) which is typical.  I assume you are not piping the connection through a computer then the (internet modem).

If so, it sounds like you are connected to the Wireless, but is the Wireless configures with the modem properly? Check your IP settings, and make sure you do not have a conflict.  Made need to change base address of router, so as to not conflict with (internet modem)

Charlie
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantDr. Killpatient
Here's my card
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,916
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Try viewing the router's device listing to see if it sees the player.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorCubbyUps
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,245
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Someone else set up the router, I'm not that experienced on how to do that.

I looked on the computer under Network and all that is listed is computers and Gatewway.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,414
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting CubbyUps:
Quote:
Someone else set up the router, I'm not that experienced on how to do that.

I looked on the computer under Network and all that is listed is computers and Gatewway.

Network issues are some of the most perplexing in home computers. Nothing will substitute for your own understanding of what is going on.

You might not like this, but I suggest, disconnect and reset everything that is new, go back to what works, then step by step use the "quick start" info for the new router and do it yourself. You will learn key skills and very likely get it right.

If you are reluctant to do this, then please supply more information about how your system is set up. All of the suggestions that have been given are good and valid, but the advice will be more focused if people know more about your situation. Decsribe everyting you can about how you are hooked up, including brand and models of equipment, service providers (cable, FIOS, ????)
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantDr. Killpatient
Here's my card
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,916
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Try visiting this URL: http://192.168.1.1/ - that should be your router (most common setting).  If not, open up a DOS window and type in "ipconfig /all" and hit enter.  Look for the line labeled "Default gateway" and visit that IP.
    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1  Previous   Next