Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
Covers are not updated and don't replace the old ones - how can I redownload all?
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAssassin
Registered: March 15, 2007
Germany Posts: 114
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I just noticed that every time there is an updated cover it doesn't download and replace the existing one for me, even when it looks like it downloads something. I guess this bug happend ages ago and I just noticed it by accident. I think I tried everything:

- Select the profile > Refresh > Refresh Images only (just flashes and skips a download)
- Online > Refresh All Images (goes down the list, downloads nothing, stays at 0 bytes, "all up to date")
- Collection > Flagged > Refresh (only download profile, skips covers)
- Changed the quality from high to standard and back and tried the above again
- Database repair

The only thing that really helps is to open a profile, go to cover scans, delete a cover so the question mark shows and then refresh the profile. Only then the latest cover is downloaded. This is only usefull if I know the profiles that have a better cover, it could be hundreds, I don't know

After using the search function some people mentioned there that there is a bug regarding the covers? What can I do?

If I delete all the files in the Images and Thumbnail folders then several of my locked custom scans that are not uploaded to the database would be gone (and I need to import them one by one) and this would not solve the main bug.
 Last edited: by Assassin
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAssassin
Registered: March 15, 2007
Germany Posts: 114
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
It bugged me so much now that I deleted my database and restored it from a backup - but without covers. Then it downloaded all the covers like I wanted when I refreshed them.

But then when I then tired to do the steps above:

- Select the profile > Refresh > Refresh Images only
- Online > Refresh All Images

the same thing again, it simply does not redownload the covers if there are already existing ones. 
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKathy
Registered: May 29, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 3,473
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Have you done a database repair?

You can also try: Tools > Options > Online> Alternative Connection Method.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAssassin
Registered: March 15, 2007
Germany Posts: 114
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I do the repair on a regular basis, doesn't help.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,861
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
One possible thing is maybe access privileges. Make sure the folder where the images are stored is writable by the user for whom you are logged in.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAssassin
Registered: March 15, 2007
Germany Posts: 114
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
This is not the problem mediadogg, because everything else downloads fine (and even the covers, *if* you delete them). After restoring the backup it downloaded thousands of covers perfectly because they werent there in the first place - this is the bug.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,861
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Ok, then next step, check the permissions in detail. See if somehow the files appear to be "Read Only" for everybody except the owner, and that might reflect a problem with the folder permissions.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAssassin
Registered: March 15, 2007
Germany Posts: 114
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have full admin permissions. I used the search a little bit more, there are several users reporting this:

http://invelos.com/Forums.aspx?task=viewtopic&topicID=903420
http://invelos.com/Forums.aspx?task=viewtopic&topicID=896360
http://invelos.com/Forums.aspx?task=viewtopic&topicID=641869
http://invelos.com/Forums.aspx?task=viewtopic&topicID=626360

DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,861
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Well I was meaning folder and file permissions, since you obviously had the permission to delete them manually. I'm probably barking up the wrong tree, but just to make clear what I am talking about, I mean right-click on the folder and included files, and in properties, select the security tab, and see which users have the ability to write. Of course, you the owner have it - but if "system" is not there, that could be a problem, or if administrators have it, but not the individual user. You can test this by running DVD Profiler in administrative mode temporarily, and if the problem goes away, that is a good clue.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,861
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
You could try resetting the databases folder permissions, and check the box that says go down the folder hierarchy. It might take a few minutes if you have a lot of files, but that usually clears up any permissions issues.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAssassin
Registered: March 15, 2007
Germany Posts: 114
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
No problem with permissions here, never had. I checked anyway, System, Administrator and me as Admin-User have all checkmarks under "Allow". Running DVDP as Admin doesn't change the result. Its the same issue that others reported in the links I posted.

Well bummer, guess I have to live with it and update the covers manually or once in a while with the "wipe all download again" method.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorNexus the Sixth
Aficionado since 1999
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Sweden Posts: 3,105
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have the same problem on the Android app (the only way to get the covers to update is to delete the titles and redownload them from the online) but I've never seen it on the PC client.

I would try reinstalling the application if that helps.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributordee1959jay
Registered: March 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Netherlands Posts: 5,989
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have the same problem on the iOS app.

Submitted a support ticket years ago, never got any response.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAssassin
Registered: March 15, 2007
Germany Posts: 114
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Did a clean reinstall and restored my backup - nothing changed. 
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,861
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Assassin:
Quote:
Did a clean reinstall and restored my backup - nothing changed. 

Here is a wild shot: could the Locks be corrupt in a way that the repair program overlooks?

Maybe try:

(1) Unlock everything, backup, repair. (if nothing is locked, lock everything, then unlock)
(2) Relock whatever was locked before, backup.

(This strategy is based on the infamous "toggle" bug in programming. Sometimes a program gets confused about what is "on" or "off" and the best way to fix it is to toggle the parameter back and forth.)

Fixed?
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantTraunStaa
Registered: June 2, 2009
Reputation: Highest Rating
Austria Posts: 305
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have this problem for years now and surely reported it a few times. Funnily, it happened also today for two entries with updated scans. I have full admin rights and no folders are set to read-only.

Solution for me is deleting the old scans manually in the local and redownload them. If there are too many changes for updated cover scans, I write them on a piece of paper to not forget one. Meself getting old a bit.
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next