Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->General: General Discussion Page: 1  Previous   Next
Lossless audio
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 4,067
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I'm planning to use filtering in a program to determine if a profile offers lossless audio.
I know that PCM, DTS-HD and Dolby TrueHD are lossless, but what about Dolby Atmos?
My freeware tools for DVD Profiler users.
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributormeyerd
Registered: March 15, 2007
Germany Posts: 21
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Dolby Atmos can contain ether lossless or compressed audio: See here

To get the information you need to build this filter, you have to add the Atmos core track as an additional, separate track.

Regards
Dieter
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 4,067
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I was rather afraid that that might be the case.
Since I am filtering purely based on the information in the profiles, I guess I'm out of luck. 
My freeware tools for DVD Profiler users.
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantspecise_8472
It wasn't me...
Registered: January 27, 2009
New Zealand Posts: 168
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
If TrueHD Atmos will be lossless.
If AC3 5.1 Atmos will be lossy.
All Atmos is is an extra track containing extended information (Height, distance etc).

So if TrueHD is lossless, If not, even with Atmos, treat it as lossy.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 4,067
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Yeah, I get that. Unfortunately I can't get that info from an existing profile, since it only shows Atmos.
My freeware tools for DVD Profiler users.
Gunnar
    Invelos Forums->General: General Discussion Page: 1  Previous   Next