Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1... 10 11 12 13 14 ...52  Previous   Next
New Plugin: LoadDVD - Open/Play Media and Automation Client
Author Message
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,368
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting dmjohn02:
Quote:
MediaDogg, thanks for the plug-in as well as your comprehensive responses to our inquiries.  I was hoping you could give me a little more specific instruction on a categorization methodology that I'm using (similar to DarkSpells posting from 2/14/08).  I'm using 3 CX995V devices.

the first digit of the collection number represents the device and the last three digits are the disc number, for example:
1089 = First player, disc 89
3312 = Third player, disc 312

was hoping you could tell me specifically how (and where) to program the plug-in to line up with my methodology.

thanks again!
With the current implementation, you can't do it that way for LoadDVD. Put CX995V1 or CX995V2 or CX995V3 in Location and the slot number in the Slot field, then the collection number can stay the same - it will be ignored by LoadDVD. I can't anticipate every possible scheme that somebody might be using, so of course I have to specify a syntax. Is there some other program in wide use that has caused you to use that scheme? If so, what is it?

Alternatively, you can set CX995V as the default changer, and change your collection numbering scheme per the instructions detailed in the release 1.2 announcement.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantdmjohn02
Registered: May 19, 2007
Posts: 2
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
no other program that I've seen provides this type of functionality short of the Escient product line ($$$). 

thanks for the response and that makes sense.  what if I don't care about the "location?"  that is, say I have 6 changers and I'm ok with the "slot" being queued up on all 6...

alternatively, is there a way to have the "collection number" sent as an argument to the batch file(s)?  I'm a old school batch file programmer (older than I care to admit) and would be comfortable parsing out the last 3 significant digits of that argument.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,368
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting dmjohn02:
Quote:
no other program that I've seen provides this type of functionality short of the Escient product line ($$$). 

thanks for the response and that makes sense.  what if I don't care about the "location?"  that is, say I have 6 changers and I'm ok with the "slot" being queued up on all 6...

alternatively, is there a way to have the "collection number" sent as an argument to the batch file(s)?  I'm a old school batch file programmer (older than I care to admit) and would be comfortable parsing out the last 3 significant digits of that argument.
Everything you are asking for can be done with programming changes. In the early days, it was easier, but these days I'm swamped and not as able to make quick changes. That's one of the the down sides of "free" stuff.

I don't understand your question about location. If you are willing to put in slot numbers, why not just go ahead and change the collection numbers? Even if you did that yourself with a batch file, then how would you send the codes to the changers? And to get LoadDVD to call your program, you still have to code the word "play" in the location field - no savings there.

I agree that coll# would be good to pass to the batch file. It's on the list for a future upgrade. Again, you would need a program to send the codes yourself instead of LoadDVD.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGone Fishin'
Registered: June 17, 2007
United States Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Jim, I said earlier that I had a few questions about your first post (“the bible”), but after rereading it several more times with DVD Profiler up on the screen I think I got it. It was just me, I’m sure 95% of the people out there got it on the first read. My problem was collating some of .bat parameters with the fields in DVD Profiler, for some they weren’t sinking in my thick head.

Thanks again for a great product. I am a professional  tax preparer and I’m starting to really get slammed so I’m going to have to wait to start using LoadDVD until after the season and I’ll be working with you then.

Neil
Neil
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,368
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Gone Fishin':
Quote:
Please be gentle with me and when LoadDVD is up and running I will give you a good tip on Paypal.  ... so I’m going to have to wait to start using LoadDVD until after the season and I’ll be working with you then.
Good thing I didn't drop everything and come running after the dangling carrot  . This is one of the reasons I just make it voluntary, no strings attached. In my experience, I have never recieved a dime from a conditional donation. Edit: And I should say, hopefully I'll be here still plugin' away when you get back. (Maybe I should send you my taxes!).
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGone Fishin'
Registered: June 17, 2007
United States Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Are you trying to tell us anything with your edit statement? Dont make me worry!
Neil
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,368
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Gone Fishin':
Quote:
Are you trying to tell us anything with your edit statement? Dont make me worry!
No, I was just trying to soften what might have seemed like a rude comment.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGone Fishin'
Registered: June 17, 2007
United States Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
No way, you're a delight to work with. Can you feel the love?
Neil
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGone Fishin'
Registered: June 17, 2007
United States Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
OK Jim, I had to push back from taxes for a couple of minutes. Here is another dumb question:

In the following extract from your first post, "Location" "%8", you say "and thereafter". Does that mean Disc 1 Location value = %8, then Disc 2 Location value = %9... or does it mean that no mater which disc number I select the Location value will go into %8?

The following parameters are passed to PlayFromDIsk.bat (as well as USBIRT.bat and RS232.bat):

  %1 DescriptionSideA
  %2 profileid - this is usually the UPC code
  %3 disc#
  %4 slot#
  %5 LabelSideA
  %6 filepath  embedded in the Notes field
  %7 mediatype = "DVD", "HD" or "BluRay"
  %8 and thereafter - remainder of Location field

Neil
Neil
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,368
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Neil. the value you put into Location is always "play" - that's what tells LoadDVD to call the bat file. When the bat file is called, it is passed the parameters in the order listed. If any tokens are found to the right of the word "play" (no quotes) in the Location fiield, they are appended and will appear to the bat file as %8 and thereafter. There shouldn't be a need to uise that - I would avoid it if possible. ("%8 and thereafter - remainder of Location field"). And please do me a favor, as I requested in my first post - please do not quote the instructions. If they change, people get (more) confused. My first post is where I want people to look for instructions, not potentially misquoted excerpts. Thanks!
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGone Fishin'
Registered: June 17, 2007
United States Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Thanks for the response. So if disc 1 and disc 2 have different tokens the value will be reflected, in the location field by which ever disc is highlighted. Thanks that clears that up.

Your point about not quoting your first post is well taken and I knew better.

Neil
Neil
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,368
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Gone Fishin':
Quote:
Thanks for the response. So if disc 1 and disc 2 have different tokens the value will be reflected, in the location field by which ever disc is highlighted. Thanks that clears that up.

Your point about not quoting your first post is well taken and I knew better.

Neil
I don't know what you mean. Have you even downloaded and run the program? If not, please do - so that you can use terminology that relates to experience and not conjecture.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantthomlamb
Registered: March 8, 2008
United States Posts: 3
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Having a problem with this plug-in.  I've followed the sketchy directions for a "File Location" entering in the following for a movie file: "E:\Videos\AVP.dvr-ms" without the quotes.  When I ask it to play the movie nothing happens.  If I double-click the file in Windows Explorer it works fine and start the Media Center playing the movie.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantbebbaboo
Registered: June 28, 2007
United States Posts: 29
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Great news!  Everything works.  The older machines use the cs995v code #1.  Question .. from a 60-something geek.  This is all greek to me, so this may be a really dumb question, but here goes.  Is there some way to add code to seen a PLAY signal throught the USBIRT as well as select the right dvd?  It's cool that it brings up the dvd, but then I have to get the remote to actually start the movie.

Same question with actually turning on the machines.  Can you add a power toggle?  I know these are probably not feasible, but it sure would make runing 4 boxes much easier.

Thanks for this terrific plugin!
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,368
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting bebbaboo:
Quote:
Great news!  Everything works.  The older machines use the cs995v code #1.  Question .. from a 60-something geek.  This is all greek to me, so this may be a really dumb question, but here goes.  Is there some way to add code to seen a PLAY signal throught the USBIRT as well as select the right dvd?  It's cool that it brings up the dvd, but then I have to get the remote to actually start the movie.

Same question with actually turning on the machines.  Can you add a power toggle?  I know these are probably not feasible, but it sure would make runing 4 boxes much easier.

Thanks for this terrific plugin!

That's exactly what it already does for the cx995v. So there must be a compatibility issue with the commands. I send a "Power on" code (not toggle) followed by a short delay, then display, then right arrow, then slot numbers, then display off (I think it starts playing from that point - I forgot, maybe there is also an explicit play command).

Bottom lline, with my Cx995V, with all three code sets, when I click the icon, the dvd plays (the unit will even power on if it isn't already on). It works 98% of the time. Other times, maybe ambient light, or I forget and stand up, blocking the IR signals, or whatever.

We might have to put in specifc codes for the cx850/860 after all ...

It would be helpful if you can perfect a sequence. Pretend you are the computer. Write down the steps - exactly which buttons in the exact sequence - estimate the amount of delay for the box to respond, and I can put that in.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,368
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mediadogg:
Quote:


We might have to put in specifc codes for the cx850/860 after all ...

It would be helpful if you can perfect a sequence.
@bebbaboo:
Well, I haven't heard anything, so I put the codes for CX850V and CX860V that I downloaded into this latest release in case you want to try them. Obviously, I have not done much testing since I don't own those devices, but my CX995V does respond half-heartedly, so it sort of confirms semi-compatibility, which might explain your problems. Please try them both and let me know if either or both sets of codes actually work. Thanks.

@All: LoadDVD V1.31 is released: (Edited)

  • IR codes for Sony CX850V and CX860V have been added (untested)

  • Fixed bug where Dacal device map table was not saved after edit

  • Added option to disable toolbar icon, resulting in faster DVD selection when multiple discs are in the profile

  • Added option to use Collection number instead of Slot for PlayFromDisk paramter %4%
  • Thanks for your support.
    Free Plugins available here.
    Advanced plugins available here.
    Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
     Last edited: by mediadogg
        Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1... 10 11 12 13 14 ...52  Previous   Next