Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1 2 3 ...5  Previous   Next
Hooking up my hodgpodge system...
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Ok, I have been working on this a bit and well I am a tad baffled.

I have managed to pick up 3 CX995's

I am looking at picking up a HM31 switch

Current TV is a SD no HDMI etc TV, I have a slightly newer HD rear projection TV that a buddy is giving me as he didn't want to drag it to england. It has no HDMI but does have several component hook ups.

Now What I was thinking was to run the 3 995's to the HM31 and use an HDMI to component cable to the TV

BUT what I am unsure about is the Audio signal. As the 995's are a bit older do that send audio over the HDMI ?

If this idea wont work, I was thinking of a receiver set up, but I need to keep the $$ to with in reasonable levels.

Currently have a DVD plat to the TV via SVid, and a OTA reciver to the Coax antenna and 1 of the 955's to my 2nd Svid.

All that will change with the other 955's get here, and I pick up the new(to me) tv which is what I am just trying to figure out to get a plan together.

Thoughts ? Suggestions ?

-Robert
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAce_of_Sevens
Registered: December 10, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Posts: 2,985
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
HDMI to component won't work. It would take a video processor to convert, not just a cable. You'd want to use the component out for the video. There's little point in a receiver iff you aren't going to add external speakers as well. Just use the red and whites and a cheap component switch.

If you do want external sound, the cheapest modern modern receiver that will be any good will cost about $200 on Amazon. You don't really need HDMI with your current set up, so so likely could pick up an old one on Craigslist or a pawn shop for $50-$70 though. You'd still need speakers. The cost of those varies a lot, but you should be able too get a semi-decent full package for less than $200 and just a stereo pair for way less. Pawn shops and craiglist also often have decent speakers, but it can be hard to find a matching set if you want 5.1.
 Last edited: by Ace_of_Sevens
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantDr. Killpatient
Here's my card
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,833
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
If you wanted to go HDMI at the source, you can use this product ($154) to convert HDMI to component and a HDMI switch between the three sources and the converter.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,844
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
The CX995V's do output audio over HDMI - that is the standard. Otherwise, you couldn't call it HDMI.

But they also output component video and digital audio.

Alternative solution: use a component video / audio switch instead of an HDMI switch and then converting that to component. Not a good plan IMHO.

For less than the price of what you are about to spend, you could even buy a low-end a/v receiver to do the component/audio switching, or get a component/audio switch with enough inputs for all the CX995V's that you intend to have when you are done.

(Now I see Ace .. gave similar advice - I agree with it).
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAce_of_Sevens
Registered: December 10, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Posts: 2,985
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I should also point out there's no advantage to using HDMI for audio over your traditional optical or RCA digital connectors if your are only watching DVDs. Blu-ray and HD DVD add some new codecs that have too high of bitrate to work on the old connectors, which max out at 1.5 mbps, but DTS and Dolby digital are fine.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantDr. Killpatient
Here's my card
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,833
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
If going with a component switch, be sure to get a digital switch instead of a physical switch.  You'll get better A&V quality.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Thanks guys, I appreciate the advice.

I have a lot of bits and getting them all connected and playing nice is confusing me a little.

I think I was confused by something my buddy has in his system

Sony HDMI to RCA Componet

He has this cable for the PS3 to his older HD TV (kinda like what I will have)

So I was thinking that this would be my bridge. But from what you guys has said this wouldn't work. So I am guessing the in the PS3 that HDMI is really a multi function port ?

Something else I had thought about is a BR player with a HDMI pass through as the bridge. Cant hurt to add a BR player to the mix

still kicking around some ideas, I have about a week until I can pick up the TV and get a better idea what I am in for.

I just need to hit the lottery Then I can just get all new bits and say poop in the old stuff :D

Thanks again

-Robert
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAce_of_Sevens
Registered: December 10, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Posts: 2,985
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
That cable isn't an HDMI to component adapter. It hooks to the Playstation 3's analog AV out. It's identical to a PlayStation 2 component cable. Does your new TV have DVI in?
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Not sure, I couldnt even find a manual for it when I looked it up.

when I looked at that cable the PS3 end looks like HDMI not a DVI.

Oh well...

-R
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,844
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
@RobAGD

Polite suggestion. Use Google to find a tutorial on a/v signals and connections. That will help you take advantage of the good advice you are getting. For example, The User Guides for a/v Receivers usually have that kind of information, or maybe the Crutchfield site. That way, you can avoid those bridges to nowhere  .

That PS3 cable has no mention of HDMI anywhere. The cable just happens to have a gold-colored rectangular plug on one end. That doesn't make it HDMI, nor does the ad say so - only the text of your URL link.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I may have copied the wrong product trying to find a retail supplier/image.

No worries, I have been reading but after a while it just making my head go fuzzy.

-R
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAce_of_Sevens
Registered: December 10, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Posts: 2,985
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting RobAGD:
Quote:
Not sure, I couldnt even find a manual for it when I looked it up.

when I looked at that cable the PS3 end looks like HDMI not a DVI.

Oh well...

-R


It's neither. It's a connector only used by Plsystation. I asked because you can convert HDMI to DVI, so you could use HDMI if you have that.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote


Got some pics of the new to me tv's rear panel.

-R
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantBattling Butler
Registered: March 13, 2007
Posts: 811
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting RobAGD:
Quote:
Ok, I have been working on this a bit and well I am a tad baffled.

I have managed to pick up 3 CX995's

I am looking at picking up a HM31 switch

Current TV is a SD no HDMI etc TV, I have a slightly newer HD rear projection TV that a buddy is giving me as he didn't want to drag it to england. It has no HDMI but does have several component hook ups.

Now What I was thinking was to run the 3 995's to the HM31 and use an HDMI to component cable to the TV

BUT what I am unsure about is the Audio signal. As the 995's are a bit older do that send audio over the HDMI ?

If this idea wont work, I was thinking of a receiver set up, but I need to keep the $$ to with in reasonable levels.

Currently have a DVD plat to the TV via SVid, and a OTA reciver to the Coax antenna and 1 of the 955's to my 2nd Svid.

All that will change with the other 955's get here, and I pick up the new(to me) tv which is what I am just trying to figure out to get a plan together.

Thoughts ? Suggestions ?

-Robert


Hello Robert -

Looks like you've collected some interesting pieces of equipment, but I am puzzled as tp why you are considering doing anything with the HMDI output of your CX995's, or an OPPO HDMI switcher since it seems your rear projection TV does not have HDMI or DVI inputs - Other than the convenience of dealing with HDMI's single cable compared to component's 3, I can see no reason for you to do anything with HMDI - it looks like the tv has at least two sets of component and audio inputs so two of the CX995's could be connected directly. If you need a 2-1 component /audio switcher to link in the third CX995, it should be much less expensive than the HM31. Yes, the CX995's will output audio from their HDMI outs, but that does not help you since you do not have HDMI's inputs on your TV. As others have mentioned, a DVI signal is video only, no audio (but again, it doesn't matter since the TV also appears to have no DVI input)

Good luck with your system
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
BB -

Thanks for the input.

The orginal idea I had floating around in my head was to do the following :

995v1 995v2 995v3
  \        |        /
    \      |        /
    HM-31 Switch
            |
            |
  BluRay Player with HDMI Pass through ( using component out )
            |
            |
          TV

This would allow a 1 cable change down the road when I get a newer TV
It keeps the cable clutter to a minimum

I have a few more weeks until I pick up the TV, I don't have a BR player yet or the switch so it is a bit open ended atm.

-Robert
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,844
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting RobAGD:
Quote:

I have a few more weeks until I pick up the TV, I don't have a BR player yet or the switch so it is a bit open ended atm.
-Robert

C'mon guy - you continue to ignore all this good advice.    Your scheme doesn't make sense, especially since you have yet to even pick a specific BD player or TV.

(1) I am not aware of  BD player with HDMI input, but I'll do some Googling. Edit: quick search = nada.
(2) I'm not sure what the component out comment relates to

You need at least a 4-way HDMI switch, with at least one output for the TV. Or, as I said before, get a low-end a/v receiver with a bunch of HDMI inputs - either way, you will have one cable to the TV.

Ok, I'll shut up on this - since apparently my input has had little to no value to you anyway. I presented you with a perfect solution that works on your existing TV and also your new one (component a/v switch) - totally ignored. Same solution mentioned by Battling Butler. Totally ignored. Why?
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1 2 3 ...5  Previous   Next