Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1  Previous   Next
Have I surpassed the capacity of Profiler?
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGeneinOrlando
Registered: June 22, 2007
United States Posts: 61
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Profiler is getting very squirrelly. It's getting very slow .... very slow reactions when typing into it. Getting lots of "no response" messages and worst of all, "OUT OF MEMORY" messages.
I run repair db often.

Anyone else having these problems or any suggestions?

Gene


My Collection
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorThe Movieman
DVDP User Since 2007
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 2,445
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have nearly 13k titles and while it sometimes can lag when I select a title (only from time to time), otherwise it's working fine.

Edit: Just looked and you have 28k. Wow.
Movieman's Guide to the Movies
http://www.moviemansguide.com

Follow Me:
@moviemansguide
 Last edited: by The Movieman
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,642
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Possible workaround: if there is any possible way to partition your database, you could use command files to quickly switch between them? Very non-ideal, but maybe possible?

Edit: And you could maybe combine the XML collections under a tool like Profiler Query when you want to do consolidated operations.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorrdodolak
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
United States Posts: 1,392
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Or try a backup and restore to a new database.  I need to look at what I did when I moved my database over to a fresh install, it wasn't a backup but a manual move of select files.  It seemed to result in the database loading faster.

How much memory do you have available on your machine and how much is DVDProfiler using?
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKathy
Registered: May 29, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 3,462
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have a large collection also but, unlike you, I haven't had any problems. It seems likely that the problem might be on your end.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGeneinOrlando
Registered: June 22, 2007
United States Posts: 61
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have plenty of memory, 8 gb and I added an SSD drive to speed it up.

Gene


My Collection
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGeneinOrlando
Registered: June 22, 2007
United States Posts: 61
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Kathy:
Quote:
I have a large collection also but, unlike you, I haven't had any problems. It seems likely that the problem might be on your end.


I get my out of memory errors when I attempt to add a disc.

Gene

My Collection
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorrdodolak
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
United States Posts: 1,392
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
32 or 64-bit OS?  How much memory does it show that DVDProfiler is running and you get that error?
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGeneinOrlando
Registered: June 22, 2007
United States Posts: 61
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting rdodolak:
Quote:
32 or 64-bit OS?  How much memory does it show that DVDProfiler is running and you get that error?


64-bit

Have to check next time I get the error

Gene
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributortsm431
Registered: May 26, 2007
Posts: 3
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Looking at the titles in your collection you appear to have a entry for each disc in your collection. As an example: "The Bible: The Epic Miniseries", which has 4 discs in the set, you have a different entry for each disc (as if it were a movie box-set with 4 different titles), instead of just having the The Bible Miniseries as one entry with the 4 discs listed as part of that entry. For large collections you might want look how to minimize the number of entries.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantLowpro
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 226
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting tsm431:
Quote:
Looking at the titles in your collection you appear to have a entry for each disc in your collection. As an example: "The Bible: The Epic Miniseries", which has 4 discs in the set, you have a different entry for each disc (as if it were a movie box-set with 4 different titles), instead of just having the The Bible Miniseries as one entry with the 4 discs listed as part of that entry. For large collections you might want look how to minimize the number of entries.

Profiles for each disc is very common.  I do the same as it provides for being able to mark individual discs as watched (borrowed, returned) versus only being able to do so for the given title as a whole.  This comes in especially handy with TV series releases.  It makes keeping track of what discs I've watched and haven't watched so much easier.
My DVD/Blu-ray Collection
 Last edited: by Lowpro
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantLowpro
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 226
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting GeneinOrlando:
Quote:
I have plenty of memory, 8 gb and I added an SSD drive to speed it up.

Gene

My Collection

Is 8 GB your limit?  I upgraded from 8 GB to 16 GB of memory a while back.  There's a notable difference and my laptop only supports 8 GB supposedly.  My bios still only reports 8 GB, but Windows 7 64-bit reports all 16 GB.  Very nice performance increase, enough so I shelved the idea of purchasing a new laptop.  There's simply no need now.  It doesn't break a sweat now compared to before.
My DVD/Blu-ray Collection
 Last edited: by Lowpro
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1  Previous   Next