Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1... 4 5 6 7 8  Previous   Next
New Plugin: DVDProfileLoop - send profile data to scripts (.bat, .exe)
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantbspeng
Registered: February 5, 2009
United States Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Figured it out... 
DVDProfileLoop will expose the ProfileID and sort name together.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,283
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Never mind ...

And by the way, I hope you also thought about not actually doing the copies in-line. Your script should build a .bat file for the copies, then call that file at the end. Take a look at the Smartphone sample script supplied with the plugin. It has very similar logic flow. It creates HTML DVD list suitable for a smartphone and then at the end, it calls the .bat file it created, which then copies the cover scan images into the same folder with the HTML. Of course you can launch the copy script on a separate thread so you can continue to use Profiler for other things while the copies run in the background.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantbspeng
Registered: February 5, 2009
United States Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
a request... possibly just a suggestion...

add the "Field names" on the "1" record, so the batch file can be sure it's getting the correct stuff.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,283
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting bspeng:
Quote:
a request... possibly just a suggestion...

add the "Field names" on the "1" record, so the batch file can be sure it's getting the correct stuff.

Good suggestion to go on the list, but obviously at a lower priority than some other things. It would be actually easier for you to create a dummy manual profile with your own indicators in the desired fields, and always feed it in as the first profile.

With either approach, you still have to figure out how to create a persistent abort flag to prevent further processing - maybe the existence of a file?
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantbspeng
Registered: February 5, 2009
United States Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
I didn't realize that it analyzed the batch file for field names until today... very clever.

but, what are the rules of same?

Also, serious bug... at least for me... SortTitle and Title are both passed with data from Title.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantbspeng
Registered: February 5, 2009
United States Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
One more thing... it leaves the batch file "in use"... I have to fully close dvdprofiler to make edits to the batch file.  Is that fixable?
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,283
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
@bspeng:

Both those issues should be easy to rectify. I'm a bit busy for a few days, but I won't forget. Thanks for the report and the kind words.

Oh, the rules: um ... I forget. 

Take a look at the sample.bat files, by example:

Put in a Rem statement just like the others, and the field name spelling should match the spelling you see in the checkbox list during plugin operation, reading from left to right, up to and not including the space just before the "-" if there is one. If there is no "-", then just use the entire token. I think that's it. Actually, I'll bet your intuition, by looking at the examples, will get it right 99.9% of the time.

Let me know if you find any other issues.

Edit: Note to myself: did I ever fix the last problem that jusjoken reported? Maybe this is related. Try not to forget to double check.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,283
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Announcing DVDProfileLoop V1.8

Quoting jusjoken:
Quote:
Doesn't work for me... steps I take...
I hope these steps help you find it.

Man I totally forgot about this one. If you are still around, and you still care about this, you can try V1.8. I'm so rusty at this old code, I'm not sure whether I nailed it, but I tried.

@bspeng:
I fixed the Title instead of SortTitle bug. I also added a bit of cleanup code after batch file execution. Let me know if that solves the "in use" issue.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantbspeng
Registered: February 5, 2009
United States Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
result:
It is doing the job for me.

but fyi...
seems like the "Parms will be flagged..." is less persistent, thus the bat is less-often in-use.
but, if you force the review of the bat file, the file is left "open" until I exit dvdprofiler

Seems like "Title" is forced, thus it's check in the parm list even if it's not in the bat file

and a request:
Add field "HasChildProfiles" true/false.  This would be nice, but, if it's hard, forget about it...

thank you again for everything
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,283
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting bspeng:
Quote:
result:
It is doing the job for me.

but fyi...
seems like the "Parms will be flagged..." is less persistent, thus the bat is less-often in-use.
but, if you force the review of the bat file, the file is left "open" until I exit dvdprofiler

Seems like "Title" is forced, thus it's check in the parm list even if it's not in the bat file

and a request:
Add field "HasChildProfiles" true/false.  This would be nice, but, if it's hard, forget about it...

thank you again for everything

Ok, working on it ...

Couple of questions:
- what do you mean by "force the review"?
- curious as to how you plan to use the parent indicator
- wouldn't you also need the list of child profiles? (I don't know how I would do that)
(well of course I know how to get the list - I just don't know what would be a good way to pass a list to a batch script)
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantbspeng
Registered: February 5, 2009
United States Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quote:
- what do you mean by "force the review"?

there is some logic that triggers the "parms will be flagged" thingy... it doesn't happen all the time... In other words, sometimes it just lets you run the bat file without intervention...  if it does the "parms will be flagged" thingy, then notepad can't save the bat file (already open in another window) until you exit dvd profiler.  This is not really a big deal, except during testing when you're making many minor tweaks to the bat file... and dvdprofiler takes it sweet time loading up...

Quote:
- curious as to how you plan to use the parent indicator

for me, there is no parent disc(iso), only children.  this give me a way to ignore parents.  (when running everything by doing "filtered" with no filters set)

Quote:
- wouldn't you also need the list of child profiles?

when running everything (do "filtered" with no filters set)  I have the children. it's the parents i don't need...
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,283
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Ok, progress (updated):
- I found the place where I forgot to close the file after scanning for parms.
- Researching the other request ... (ok, now I get what you want to do with it)

(oops ... )

BTW the "parms will be flagged" message comes after you click "Call Program" and the program you select contains ".bat" as part of the filepath.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,283
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Announcing DVDProfileLoop 1.9

- Fixed .bat file left open after parm scan. Now closed.
- Added Box Set Content Count as a parameter, used in the same way as the others (case insensitive), e.g. rem %2 = box set content count, for auto scan recognition

@bspeng
I could not reproduce the phantom title issue you reported. The scan is not very smart, so
one of your other comments might have triggered it.

(Edit: And I'm sure you know that box set content count = 0 means no children.  )
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantbspeng
Registered: February 5, 2009
United States Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
v1.9 works great!

one last request...

if the "show bat window" is checked, pass one extra data: "ShowWindow" or conversely if not checked, send "HideWindow"

This would be handy for selectively using "PAUSE" in the bat file.
(A hidden window with a PAUSE is pain in the butt.)

For that matter, this would be nice in LoadDVD too  (Play vs Play/s), but the way it's working now (with having to add "play"), this might be immaterial.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,283
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting bspeng:
Quote:
v1.9 works great!

one last request...

if the "show bat window" is checked, pass one extra data: "ShowWindow" or conversely if not checked, send "HideWindow"

This would be handy for selectively using "PAUSE" in the bat file.
(A hidden window with a PAUSE is pain in the butt.)

For that matter, this would be nice in LoadDVD too  (Play vs Play/s), but the way it's working now (with having to add "play"), this might be immaterial.

That's wonderful! 

So I think I'll let matters rest for awhile. I was glad to be responsive and I appreciate your support. Next release will be after we accumualte a number of requests and/or significant bugs. Putting small changes in one at a time is not very productive or fun.

You could implement the selective pause by simply passing your own pseudo flag in. For example, pass collection number when you want to pause, and don't pass it when you don't want to pause - something like that. In fact you may even be able to detect or control the window state from the batch file, using windows commands.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantSparkss
Registered: May 27, 2009
Posts: 50
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Is it, or would it, be possible to set up profiles within the plugin ? Essentially creating "actions" or a sort of a suedo-macro. Basically the ability to set the script being called and the elemenets being passed to it and encapsalate that into a single plugin choice or profile, like your Process Flagged and Process Tagged profiles, but extend those to include another level of granulrity for pre-selected external script and parameters to send to it.


EDIT : After reading some of the last couple of posts in this thread it seems that at least part of what I am asking for already exists, that being the ability to code the parms being passed/required into the bat file itself. I will read up on how to do that .

Thanks.
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1... 4 5 6 7 8  Previous   Next