Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->General: General Discussion Page: 1  Previous   Next
Databases can now be on network drives
Author Message
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantjohnd
Evening, poetry lovers.
Registered: March 13, 2007
Australia Posts: 298
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Oooooo......nice 
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantMark Harrison
I like IMDB
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
United States Posts: 3,299
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I need to play with this.  I'd love to move my database to the shared My Documents space so I can open it from multiple accounts on my computer (I'd like my wife and I to have access to the same data).  I'm guessing it shouldn't be too hard.
Get the CSVExport and Database Query plug-ins here.
Create fake parent profiles to organize your collection.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantjohnd
Evening, poetry lovers.
Registered: March 13, 2007
Australia Posts: 298
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Seems to work fine. The only thing I haven't tried is concurrent access.

BTW, I like how you can create and new database and copy the existing one to it at the same time.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantMark Harrison
I like IMDB
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
United States Posts: 3,299
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
What I did for my wifes account was to simply open the database in my account.  That worked perfectly.  Then I made the mistake of cleaning out her My Document folder of the left over data.  That worked fine, but when I tried to load a new layout, it was still looking at her My Document folder instead of mine (where the database is).  It would sure be nice if I could simply change where the program searches for that stuff.  Until then, I supposed I could re-create some folder in her account.
Get the CSVExport and Database Query plug-ins here.
Create fake parent profiles to organize your collection.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributorrl8901111
Registered: March 13, 2007
Posts: 8
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have the database installed on a network drive and I'm accessing it from three PC - not simultaneously . But this isn't a problem
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorTelecine
Regd: January 22, 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Australia Posts: 820
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting rl8901111:
Quote:
I have the database installed on a network drive and I'm accessing it from three PC - not simultaneously . But this isn't a problem


How did you move the database? Putting it in my documents isn't a great option. I have mine installed on my corporate laptop and like many corporates we use folder redirection on my documents to move the contents to a network drive.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmattynealo
DVDP User Since Feb 15 06
Registered: March 13, 2007
Posts: 50
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have mine on a network share. and I have a issues with 3.0 It seems to be really slow over the my network.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantdrjenkins
Registered: March 14, 2007
United States Posts: 25
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Telecine:
Quote:
How did you move the database?


Go to "File", "Open Database", "New Database". Then enter a "Database Name", browse to or enter a path, and check "Copy the current database".

-drjenkins
They that give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty or safety.
--Benjamin Franklin
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorTelecine
Regd: January 22, 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Australia Posts: 820
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting drjenkins:
Quote:
Quoting Telecine:
Quote:
How did you move the database?


Go to "File", "Open Database", "New Database". Then enter a "Database Name", browse to or enter a path, and check "Copy the current database".

-drjenkins


Thanks. That worked a treat.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantRon
DVD Obermotz
Registered: March 13, 2007
Germany Posts: 168
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Great job.  the performance over network (wireless) is much much better.

I have 2.5 on my NAS (complete program folder), on my wired gigabit network it worked fine but from my wifes wireless connect it is sooo slooooow.

Now, the with 3.0, I still see a small delay but it is very usable
Premium member since 29 August 2002 ----  

Proud owner of a Phillips 42PFL7862D since 27 Oct 2007 :-D
    Invelos Forums->General: General Discussion Page: 1  Previous   Next