Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1... 42 43 44 45 46 ...52  Previous   Next
New Plugin: LoadDVD - Open/Play Media and Automation Client
Author Message
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,299
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Ok Rob, you gave it a shot. Let's see if I can help. First of all, NOWHERE is it documented to edit that
file. Please put it back like it was. In the future, if it is not documented, don't do it. Of all the things you read, what you decided to try was something not documented.    Things will not just magically
work, and it is a monumental waste of time to debug "shots in the dark," although it may be more fun and satisfying than trying to understand my documentation.

I'll get back to you later, meanwhile, see the post by apturbo: Google "site:Invelos global cache" who might be another person with some ideas for you.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
I wasn't expecting anything to magically work, I was expecting that file was what would allow me to select additional 995v's from with in the plug in menu.


My assumption was this was the source file to build the pull down within the plug-in properties/options.

From the LoadDVD pdf, there was nothing about an ability to add addition hardware so that was a best guess.

Reading the Automation PDF I didn't see anything that would to my understanding would do what I was looking for.

The idea what to have the built in control for the 995's just adding additional machines and over lapping IR code sets.

Obliviously that was not the correct method to do that.

:/

-R
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,299
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Ok I see I hurt your feelings. But you didn't mention whether you found anything useful in the posts by apturbo, another user of Global Cache and LoadDVD? Did you contact that user for ideas as I suggested?

I see one problem. In my document, I use the word "device" instead of "hardware." You can add devices to the automation table and associate your own commands. The table already includes a sample command that is equivalent to the action of CX995V1, which you can copy and paste to associate with your own device, e.g. CX995V4. There is a picture of the default table, some words about how to edit the table, a printout of the XML file that is used by the table, and a default table that includes all that in the LoadDVD/Pro folder.

There is no specific Global Cache support. But you can call any program from LoadDVD, including one that sends information to Global Cache.

Also, I would recommend that you try to figure out how you would send a command to your device from windows. This will give you insight and ideas for how to proceed. It is unlikely that I will have the time to investigate the GC SDK and do any more device programming in the near future.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,299
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
OMG man I looked at that Global Cache document.    Did you notice that it is a low-level specification that a device driver would use? My software is a couple of layers above that. I use the device driver supplied by the USBUIRT author, and above that, some software that calls the device driver.

You need to look for similar software for the GC device (e.g. send a Pronto text sequence to a specific GC IP address, port number and IR# (1, 2, or 3), or a "dll" that can be used internally by a program such as a plugin. Let me know what you find.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Jim, no hurt feelings here, just some frustration. You are levels above most and it seems you don't fully grasp that fact when someone is struggling with your software.

Get me pointed in the right direction and i'll make every attempt figuring something out, but I know where my skills lay and this kind of work is not within my skill set.

I looked at it, and I assumed that was a bit more basic, there are a few things that are geared to work with it. Touchsquid has an App for the Android devices ( geared towards tablets ) that is made for the GC device.

anywho, need to pickup a new router, figures when I dig it out of storage it craps the bed after being on 20 min.

-Robert
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,299
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting RobAGD:
Quote:
Jim, no hurt feelings here, just some frustration. You are levels above most and it seems you don't fully grasp that fact when someone is struggling with your software.

Get me pointed in the right direction and i'll make every attempt figuring something out, but I know where my skills lay and this kind of work is not within my skill set.

I looked at it, and I assumed that was a bit more basic, there are a few things that are geared to work with it. Touchsquid has an App for the Android devices ( geared towards tablets ) that is made for the GC device.

anywho, need to pickup a new router, figures when I dig it out of storage it craps the bed after being on 20 min.

-Robert

I did a Google "send Pronto codes to Global Cache" and got some hits. Some software for iPod, etc around $50. There is probably windows stuff out there as well.

One guy was estimating that his setup was going to cost between $300 and $500. This is exactly what I was trying to avoid when I made my $10 software that uses a $50 blaster on top of DVD Profiler. But you do need a windows PC - that's the "downside" if you don't already have some kind of server or PC that is on 24x7.

Edit: Seems like most of the GC stuff I am finding is for system installers and kind of pricey. If you find any kind of code that is usable in a plugin, let me know. It might require purchasing a license, so before you spend cash let me check the specs to make sure I can merge it with LoadDVD.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,299
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Ok, I went to bed Sat nite dreaming about Global Cache. Woke up Sun morning with light bulbs flashing. So now I think I have figured out how I plan to support 3rd party IP/IR solutions such as Global Cache. So far, the only software I have found is here, but it assumes that the unit is connected via GC-100 gateway box.

Let me know when you have found the software and have it working (standalone) in your system. Then I will tell how I plan to support it with LoadDVD, assuming you still want that.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Thanks for putting the thinking cap on and considering working on this.

I am back to working 2 jobs for the season so spare time is at a premium until after the 1st. I'll poke around when I can at work on outside apps for gc control.

-R

PS - I really appreciate the work/help
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,299
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Basically the code is done. Trying to decide whether to release it before I confirm that it actually works with your chosen software. There are some other things bundled into this release that I want to deliver, so if you can't get around to that soon, I might still release it "hidden" until I am more confident. BTW the GC support will be "Pro" level, since it is kind of an advanced function.

Just did some more reading and messing around. It seems that the simpleIRClient.exe program is probably what you need. It will talk to a CG100, but if you are talking to a single Wfi2ir, it will be as if you were talking to CG100 module 1.

I even made the program try to talk to a/v DashBoard. They shook hands and spoke, but of course my syntax is different. Someday I might consider adding GC syntax parser to a/v DashBoard. So now I am virtually certain that the code I wrote will work. Let me know when you are ready to test.

You should download the test program from the GC web site. It will automatically find your unit and allow you to send and receive commands. There is an IR learning module as well.

For LoadDVD, you will use the simpleIRClient.exe program, specifically the command:

simpleIRClient.exe -p TCP -n ipaddress -e 4998 -m 1 -c 1 <ldvdIRC.txt  ,for the IR#1
simpleIRClient.exe -p TCP -n ipaddress -e 4998 -m 1 -c 2 <lDVDIRC.txt  ,for the IR#2
simpleIRClient.exe -p TCP -n ipaddress -e 4998 -m 1 -c 3 <lDVDIRC.txt  ,for the blaster

The "<lDVDIRC.txt" part is not in the manual. It is the trick we will use to make LoadDVD work. LoadDVD will create a file, lDVDIRC.txt each time it sends IR codes. When you select the Global Cache option, instead of sending the codes to the USBUIRT, it will run your simpleIRClient.exe command. This program usually stops and asks for you to type in the IR codes. That what the "<lDVDIRC.txt" does: it takes the codes from the LoadDVD file and "types" them into the program for you.

With this technique, I can support any kind of 3rd party program that uses Pronto IR codes.

Now that I understand GC better, I could also put in a native GlobalCache devide that you could put into the Location field. I might do that also at a later date.

So, watch for the next release and the details of how to select the GC option. Meanwhile, you should download the test software and make sure your device is working properly. Otherwiese you could send me on wild goose chases looking for bugs in LoadDVD that aren't there.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,299
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
LoadDVD V2.22 Available

Consider this an interim release to test a few things. There is a bunch of hidden stuff not being released and a corresponding massive update to LoadDVD Pro. But I'm still testing things, so I thought I would announce a few bits and hope to get some help testing.

V2.22 Interim  (Edited)

- Reworked the hotkey code. Hopefully now it is working. Ctl-1 ... Ctrl-9 for discs 1-9, Ctrl-0 is the multi-disc dropdown. Ctrl-A ... Ctrl-Z for discs 10 - 35, and Ctrl-F1 ... etc for discs from 36 on. That should be enough. There are probably some menu hotkey overlaps that I will have to deal with if anybody hits those.

Note that for this to work for multi-disc profiles, the "Main Menu" option must be selected in the LoadDVD Options. Maybe someday I can figure out how to eliminate this restriction.

- The Dacal code should work. I can't find any issues. Perhaps someone could test this version to verify whether or not problems exist.

I will be releasing the other hidden new stuff at a later date, after some more testing.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,299
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
LoadDVD V2.23 Available  (Withdrawn)
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,299
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
LoadDVD V2.24 Available

- Support for Sony CX7000ES via com port and IR
- New automation commands supported for RS232 control of Sony Changers
- Com port devices discovery update
- Shortcut keys for playing discs improved
- Support for Series Specification, including episodes=”folder”

More details in this document.

I forgot this one - not in the document:

- Side A / Side B support for Filepath  (not yet for "Series" or "Action")
  Example: 
          [filepath disc="01" side="A"] \\server\movies\%title%_SideA.avi [/filepath]
          [filepath disc="01" side="B"] \\server\movies\%title%_SideB.avi [/filepath]

  Results in two dropdowns for disc1, one for Side A and another for Side B

Any questions or confusion, please post here.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,299
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
LoadDVD V2.30 Available (Updated from V2.27)

- Supports DVDP 3.8.1 ONLY
- Import / Export of My Links in CSV format
- Export of links from Profile Links page in CSV format

Six new menus are provided:

Online>My Links>Flag MyLinks  - Flags profiles that have My Links entries
Online>My Lnks>Clear Flagged - deletes the My Links entries from the flagged profiles
Online>Online Profile Links>Flag Missing Online Links - flags profiles with no links on Profile Links Page

Tools>Link Tools>Import My Links - the CSV file format is described following
Tools>Link Tools>Export Flagged My Links - this will create a CSV file suitable for edit/import
Tools>Link Tools>Export Flagged Online Links - this will create a CSV file of links from Profile Links Page


To Bulk Load My Links using CSV:

(1) Prepare a CSV file with each row representing a link.
(2) Load the CSV file using Tools>Link Tools>Import My Links.

The header of the CSV file will typically look like: upcean, linkURL, linkDesc, linkCat, linkUse
- In lieu of "upcean", the tag "profileID" can be used.
- Only two fields are required: upcean and linkURL. Default values will be used for other fields if missing.
- Extraneous fields, such as "title," will be ignored. This is for your convenience in editing the CSV.
- The CSV may be prepared manually, with Excel, or using the CSV Export plugin. Please note that when using Excel, take care to enter upcean/profileID into a text column (or prefix entries with a single quote) to prevent Excel from attempting to format the profile ID as a number.
- The Import process strips out any leading quote from the profileID
- The Import process also tolerates the "-" marks included in the exported UPC from CSV Export
- Quotes are optional surrounding the data of any field.
- Header names are not case sensitive

The following abbreviations are used to simplify data entry:
Category: (linkCat)
Of - Official Web Site
F - Fan Site
T - Trailers and Clips
Re - Reviews
Ra - Rating
Ge - General Information
Ga - Games
Ot- Other

Link Use: (linkUse)
N - none
T - Trailer Link
I - IMDb Link
R - Rotten Tomoatoes
M - Metacritic

Here is a sample file, suitable for import:

profileID, linkURL, linkDesc, linkCat, linkUse
"024543563419","file://lC:/Users/mediadogg/iTunes/iTunes Music/starwars.mp3","Star Wars Theme",T,T
"719987220621.4","http://www.Google.com","Search",Ge,N
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,299
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Obsolete post.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantdtsig
Just asking questions man
Registered: August 17, 2009
United States Posts: 339
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Down loaded 2.28.  Tried to 'Find Missing Online Links' but about 25% of the way through started getting scripting errors.  Only way to get out of the errors was to use system monitor.  When I killed the 'find ... ' it killed all of dvdProfiler.



Rebooted and tried again .. same error

running dvdprofiler 3.8, windows vista 64 ultimate

DSig
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,299
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting dtsig:
Quote:
Down loaded 2.28.  Tried to 'Find Missing Online Links' but about 25% of the way through started getting scripting errors.  Only way to get out of the errors was to use system monitor.  When I killed the 'find ... ' it killed all of dvdProfiler.



Rebooted and tried again .. same error

running dvdprofiler 3.8, windows vista 64 ultimate

DSig

Thanks. I will do some more testing. I usually try to trap errors before they hang DVDP, but clearly I blew this one!    Thanks for the report. I have an alternate way of doing it that would avoid scripting errors, but it is even slower than my current method. Maybe I will publish a version that gives an option ...

Oh, did you say Vista? I gave up on that OS long ago ... I don't officially support Vista, but if DVDP runs on it, then I think my plugin should also ..
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1... 42 43 44 45 46 ...52  Previous   Next