Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Previous   Next
Tool: BirthYearCheck
Author Message
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,431
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mreeder50:
Quote:
What a shame, HTTPJolie does not work on my machine for whatever reason.

Trust me, nobody is more eager than I, to get that problem sorted out. 

HTTPJolie, next to BulkEdit is one of the most powerful and useful plugins I have written. And I absolutely love helping to enable the creativity of other developers, especially GSyren. I believe that you and I have worked on this before, but if you have any other thoughts about the issue or how to debug, send me a PM.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,431
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
If we can't get HTTPJolie to work for you, then I have another idea if you are willing to try it.

If you can confirm that DVDPFauxAPI installs correctly for you, I am willing to create a subplugin with a "lite" version of the TCP Server that GSyren uses. I will strip out everything that is not needed for his tools.

Subplugins are easier to develop, debug and maintain than plugins. They are all hosted by the API plugin, which needs to be installed only once unless a bug is discovered.

Let me know what you think.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was outta bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
United States Posts: 2,721
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
The only thing I am running that might be interfering with HTTPJolie is Norton 360, Norton Utilities Ultimate and Norton Antitrack. I tried completely uninstalling and I even went to the extreme and check for any reference to HTTPJolie in the registry and deleted it. I disabled Norton stuff and did a clean install. But, everytime I try to run one the the plugins that use it, I get the message, there is no contact with HTTPJolie.
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,431
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mreeder50:
Quote:
The only thing I am running that might be interfering with HTTPJolie is Norton 360, Norton Utilities Ultimate and Norton Antitrack. I tried completely uninstalling and I even went to the extreme and check for any reference to HTTPJolie in the registry and deleted it. I disabled Norton stuff and did a clean install. But, everytime I try to run one the the plugins that use it, I get the message, there is no contact with HTTPJolie.

Understood. We have been down that road. I am asking if there is something we might not have explored. If we can't think of anything, I mentioned another path uf you are willing to try it. it will be some more coding work for me, but I don't mind.

Let me ask some dumb questions:

- Is HTTPJoile actually installed and listed as a plugin?
- Have you run the sample client program provided with HTTPJolie?
- If you run DVD Profiler elevated, you can type simple commands into your web browser. The simplest one is the ping command: http://192.168.1.247:41395/?cmd="ping" (default HTTP port is 41395. Change the IP address to the IP address of the PC where DVD Profiler is running as administrator). Does that work?
- Is DVD Profiler running on the same PC as the GSyren tool?
- Do the IP addresses and ports in the GSyren tool  match those in the HTTPJolie configuration?
- Which other plugins do you use?

Note: To use a web browser to send commands, DVD Profiler must be run as administrator. Default port is 41395.

However GSyren tools use TCP mode to send commands, which does not require  DVD Profiler elevation. Default port is 41415.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 4,563
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
BirthYearCheck 4.6

"You didn't think this through, did you?" 
Said me to myself, when I started updating birth years for real in my collection. I realized that I needed to flag the entries that I updated so I could contribute them later. But of course I forgot to do the Ctrl-F in BirthYearCheck before I did the update. And after the update, the row was already hidden. I could, of course, unhide the hidden rows, but that would kind of defeat the purpose.

The solution was obvious. I should let BirthYearCheck flag them automatically when an update was performed. So I implemented that. Settings updated:


Now you can decide to flag all updates, or just the ones that you set to 9999 (or none at all). And I must say that I really should have thought of this from the beginning. It makes fixing birth years so much easier. Well, live and learn.

Just remember, if you already have flagged items in Profiler, clear them before you start updating. Save them first if you need them later. Just don't mix flags that you set for different purposes.

Remember, you need HTTPJolie (or if mediadogg cooks up something compatible for FTP). The program will work without it, but these functions will be disabled.
My freeware tools for DVD Profiler users.
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was outta bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
United States Posts: 2,721
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mediadogg:
Quote:
Quoting mreeder50:
Quote:
The only thing I am running that might be interfering with HTTPJolie is Norton 360, Norton Utilities Ultimate and Norton Antitrack. I tried completely uninstalling and I even went to the extreme and check for any reference to HTTPJolie in the registry and deleted it. I disabled Norton stuff and did a clean install. But, everytime I try to run one the the plugins that use it, I get the message, there is no contact with HTTPJolie.

Understood. We have been down that road. I am asking if there is something we might not have explored. If we can't think of anything, I mentioned another path uf you are willing to try it. it will be some more coding work for me, but I don't mind.

Let me ask some dumb questions:

- Is HTTPJoile actually installed and listed as a plugin?
- Have you run the sample client program provided with HTTPJolie?
- If you run DVD Profiler elevated, you can type simple commands into your web browser. The simplest one is the ping command: http://192.168.1.247:41395/?cmd="ping" (default HTTP port is 41395. Change the IP address to the IP address of the PC where DVD Profiler is running as administrator). Does that work?
- Is DVD Profiler running on the same PC as the GSyren tool?
- Do the IP addresses and ports in the GSyren tool  match those in the HTTPJolie configuration?
- Which other plugins do you use?

Note: To use a web browser to send commands, DVD Profiler must be run as administrator. Default port is 41395.

However GSyren tools use TCP mode to send commands, which does not require  DVD Profiler elevation. Default port is 41415.

HTTPJolie is installed and listed as a plugin
I have run the sample client program provided with HTTPJolie
If I ping http://192.168.1.247:41395/?cmd="ping" it times out. If I ping the address set up in DVDP for connection to my android app it says Connection OK
Yes both are running on the same PC
I have a jpg that shows messages and settings after launch
No other plugins are in use at this time

I have 5 jpg screen captures I took along the way and named them when I took them. I could send you if you would like.
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,431
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Well you answered almost everything. What makes me wonder is that you also reported on something that made no sense to do. Why would you ping the address I sent you? That’s the address of my system in my network. So I wonder what have you possibly done that you may not realize is incorrect.

My original question was do the IP addresses match? Both HTTPJolie and GSyren tools should be using the IP address you used that worked for the ping. Not mine - yours. Maybe we are getting closer. Once you verify that both tools are using the same IP address and port, the next step is to confirm that your firewall is allowing that connection. My software attempts to set it, but it might be failing, so you might have to do it manually, following the instruction provided by the firewall software you are using.

The program you are authorizing is dvdpro.exe. The IP address is the one that worked for the ping, and the three ports are 41395 and 41415 for IP and 41435 for UDP. You can confirm those numbers in the sample client. They are displayed in upper left hand corner ( in case I got it wrong, I’m not at my PC right now).
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 4,563
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mediadogg:
Quote:
GSyren tools use TCP mode to send commands, which does not require  DVD Profiler elevation.

Just to clarify; in TCP mode you should not run DVD Profiler in elevated mode. A program in normal mode cannot communicate with a program in elevated mode. Theoretically, running both my tools and Profiler elevated ought to work, but it didn't work when I tried it. I didn't put any effort in finding out why, though.
My freeware tools for DVD Profiler users.
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was outta bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
United States Posts: 2,721
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have sent the message windows I get to mediadogg.
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was outta bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
United States Posts: 2,721
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I do run DVDP and BYCheck in elevated mode. Should I remove that and try again?
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 4,563
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mreeder50:
Quote:
I do run DVDP and BYCheck in elevated mode. Should I remove that and try again?

That would be my suggestion.
My freeware tools for DVD Profiler users.
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,431
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Running elevated is not the problem. Are you actually reading my posts?

Please stop doing extra miscellaneous things. When I ask for specific things, please just do them, The messages you sent includes things I didn't ask, but do NOT show screen shots of what I asked for - a waste of your time and mine.

(1) DO NOT CONTINUE TO TEST WITH MY IP ADDRESS. IT WAS ONLY AN EXAMPLE. USE ONLY YOUR IP ADDRESS 192.168.1.182 The only screen shot you sent me of the response to ping was when using my address. Useless, because of course you cannot connect to my machine.

(2) There is no need to "try every port". I told you exactly which ones to use. This leads to useless work and confusion. BYCheck uses the TCP default of 41415. USE THAT ONE AND NOTHING ELSE. IT IS ALSO THE DEFAULT FOR HTTPJOLIE TCP MODE.

(3) On the matter of elevation: YOU DO NOT NEED IT FOR GSYREN TOOLS.

(4) On the matter of elevation: YES, YOU DO NEED IT FOR COMMANDS FROM A BROWSER. I requested that you try it and tell me what happened. You did not. Once again, with DVD Profiler running elevated, type into the browser: https://192.168.1.182:41395?cmd="ping"

(5) I requested you to test using the sample client.  You did not. You only showed me a screen shot of it running, but you didn't actually use to test for me, which might have given me some info.

Finally, I congratulate you    for finally sending me the error message you get when loading. Why nobody ever thinks to tell the developer about the messages, I will never understand. The message identifies exactly the line of code that is causing the error, so now maybe I can fix it. It is vey likely the same thing that is causing magmadrag a problem. But so far, nobody has ever told me about the error messages.

So, I will try to be as clear as possble:

(1) The error message you showed indicated that there is a bug. It might be the reason you are not connecting.
(2) However, if the plugin is still loading, then it would be helpful if you try the HTTP /  Browser / DVD Profiler elevated test of #4 above and report results. I DO NOT REQUEST ANYTHING ELSE  OF YOU AT THIS TIME. THIS ONE TEST WILL HELP ME FIX THE BUG.

I will updload a version of HTTPJoile that attempts to fix the bug as soon as possible.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was outta bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
United States Posts: 2,721
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Sorry about the useless info, but sometimes when you get on a roll, you tend to get lost and forget where you were going along the way. I will try to pay closer attention to what you are asking me to do. But, as a former IT guy, I tend to drift sometimes.
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,431
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mreeder50:
Quote:
Sorry about the useless info, but sometimes when you get on a roll, you tend to get lost and forget where you were going along the way. I will try to pay closer attention to what you are asking me to do. But, as a former IT guy, I tend to drift sometimes.

That's OK. I was really happy to see the error message. And once again, it would really help if you could do the browser test (DVD Profiler elevated). If that works, it will be a good debugging clue and save me time in getting the problem fixed.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,431
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Thanks for the new set of messages. Funny thing is I can't find that line of code. I sent you the install file for what I think is the latest version V 1.55. See if anything changes.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,431
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Seems like with the recent change in SSL certificate enforcement in browsers, you need to use "http" instead of "https" for HTTPJolie browser requests. Sample Client(3.0 is current) works ok with https. You will get the same warning about insecure web site, as with Invelos.

Fixing applications and web sites for the new SSL procedures that the industry has adopted is a nightmare for us little guys. And for Invelos also it seems, at least we can connect, but is is insecure.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Previous   Next