Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1 2 3 4  Previous   Next
New Plugin: MyTools - Command, Filter and Automation Icons
Author Message
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,845
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
*** Please Do Not Quote This Post ***

This plugin creates a custom toolbar, "MyTools" for hosting icons that invoke DVD Profiler Command Files. The plugin works by using a keyboard simulator based on the AutoIt Tool. I hope that future releases will not need this as new capabilities are added to the plugin toolkit provided by Invelos.

The plugin ships with several ready made icons and command files. My other plugins either have been or will be recoded to use this toolbar for icons (except LoadDVD). The toolbar is accompanied by a drop down menu that appears off the DVD Profiler Tools main menu item.

Other plugin authors may give users the option associating their icons with "MyTools."

Note also that with the Customize menu available to all toolbars, you can add any other filters and  commands of your choice.

I realize that this plugin may be rendered obsolete by future enhancements to DVD Profiler. Until then, I will continue to enhance it, to take best advantage of developer toolkit capabilities.

Screen Shot.

Built-In Sample Command Files and Icons
  • Run Command File - Opens the command file window

  • Blu-Ray - Filters Collection for Blu-Ray Profiles

  • HD - Filters Collection for HD Profiles

  • HD Combo - Filters Collection for HD Combos Profiles

  • HiDef - Filters Collection for Blu-Ray plus HD Profiles

  • DVD - Filters Collection for DVD Profiles Only

  • For Sale -  Filters Collection for "ForSale" tag

  • Sold -  Filters Collection for "Sold" tag

  • On Loan - Filters Collection for DVDs on Loan

  • Overdue - Filters Collection for Overdue DVDs on Loan

  • FlipTags - A set of predefined placeholders for commands that will "Flip" between two different values of a Tag


  • Now, just one icon click away from the Collection view you need!

    Instructions For Installing Samples
    (1) Download and unzip the samples.zip file
    (2) Copy the contents of the Filters folder into the location that is opened up when you click the "Load Filter" icon in DVD Profiler.
    (3) Copy the contents of the Command Files folder into the location that is opened up when you click File\Run Command File on the main menu in DVD Profiler.
    Thanks for your support.
    Free Plugins available here.
    Advanced plugins available here.
     Last edited: by mediadogg
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantMarEll
    Registered: June 9, 2007
    United Kingdom Posts: 1,208
    Posted:
    PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    I was planning on doing a similar thing with AutoHotKey.  Glad you beat me to it, your's is much better 

    Looking forward to the planned enhancements, particularly the ability to defing your own icons, though for the time being I'll simply overwrite some of the existing filter sets.  btw the ability to drag icons to other toolbars is already there so I'm not sure what you mean there.

    As you said in the other thread, hopefully the new plugin developer kit will allow you to launch command files without having to simulate key presses.  Regarding that, in AHK I found it quicker to put the contents of a variable into the clipboard variable then send ctrl-v rather than sending the contents directly to the screen.  Is that possible in AutoIt?  Also, is there a sleep command in there just after the 'run command file' dialog is opened?  There seems to be a long delay before the filename is typed in.

    Again, great work MD! 
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
    Aim high. Ride the wind.
    Registered: March 18, 2007
    Reputation: Highest Rating
    United States Posts: 4,845
    Posted:
    PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Quoting MarEll:
    Quote:
    I was planning on doing a similar thing with AutoHotKey.  Glad you beat me to it, your's is much better 

    Looking forward to the planned enhancements, particularly the ability to defing your own icons, though for the time being I'll simply overwrite some of the existing filter sets.  btw the ability to drag icons to other toolbars is already there so I'm not sure what you mean there.

    As you said in the other thread, hopefully the new plugin developer kit will allow you to launch command files without having to simulate key presses.  Regarding that, in AHK I found it quicker to put the contents of a variable into the clipboard variable then send ctrl-v rather than sending the contents directly to the screen.  Is that possible in AutoIt?  Also, is there a sleep command in there just after the 'run command file' dialog is opened?  There seems to be a long delay before the filename is typed in.

    Again, great work MD! 

    Great feedback, thanks. I will look into that clipboard trick. Yes, I have a 300ms delay - sometimes the first character would get clipped off the filter name - your Ctrl-V tip may fix that, obviating the delay. I'll post my AutoIt script. Its a free tool, and very powerful - basically all the ".NET" capabilities in a scripting tool. You can play with it, and share your improvement.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think the only icons you can manipulate are the ones built into Profiler. So, I would just add the ability to associate your own icons to Profiler Toolbars - I think I can do that ...

    Here is the script: (The filter name is in $CmdLine[1], and the {del} clears past contents in the dialog)

    If $CmdLine[0] == 0 Then Exit
    WinActivate("Invelos Software DVD Profiler")
    WinWaitActive("Invelos Software DVD Profiler")
    Send("{Alt}{Enter}{Up}{Up}{Enter}") ; Run Command File..
    WinWaitActive("Run Command File..","",2) ; Wait for Dialog
    Sleep(300)
    Send("{Del}" & $CmdLine[1] & "{Enter}") ; Select the commmand file
    Exit
    Thanks for your support.
    Free Plugins available here.
    Advanced plugins available here.
     Last edited: by mediadogg
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorTaro
    Registered: February 23, 2009
    Reputation: High Rating
    Belgium Posts: 1,580
    Posted:
    PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Just had a quick look at this and it's a pretty nifty plug-in. I'm sure it'll solve many a question posed by users, such as quick ways to split the DVD's from the Blu-rays and so on. I'll give it a spin as well. Thanks for your continued work on plug-ins!
    Blu-ray collection
    DVD collection
    My Games
    My Trophies
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantMarEll
    Registered: June 9, 2007
    United Kingdom Posts: 1,208
    Posted:
    PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Quoting mediadogg:
    Quote:
    Great feedback, thanks. I will look into that clipboard trick. Yes, I have a 300ms delay - sometimes the first character would get clipped off the filter name - your Ctrl-V tip may fix that, obviating the delay. I'll post my AutoIt script. Its a free tool, and very powerful - basically all the ".NET" capabilities in a scripting tool. You can play with it, and share your improvement.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think the only icons you can manipulate are the ones built into Profiler. So, I would just add the ability to associate your own icons to Profiler Toolbars - I think I can do that ...


    I had no problem moving the icons from the MyTools toolbar to an existing toolbar.

    Regarding the clipping problem, have you considered using the WinWaitActive function?  That's what I've been using in my AHK scripts and it seems to do the trick.
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
    Aim high. Ride the wind.
    Registered: March 18, 2007
    Reputation: Highest Rating
    United States Posts: 4,845
    Posted:
    PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Quoting MarEll:
    Quote:
    I had no problem moving the icons from the MyTools toolbar to an existing toolbar.

    Regarding the clipping problem, have you considered using the WinWaitActive function?  That's what I've been using in my AHK scripts and it seems to do the trick.

    By craky, you're right!!!!    Thanks, missed that. Great, more time for other features.

    You'll see from my script that, yes, I'm using the wait for activation. If you come up with something cool, I'm sure you will share. In fact, I think I'll just wait for that, while I finish up the code for custom icons. It should take you all of about 5 min to transfer your experience to AutoIt. 

    Another thought: if you have a faster alternative to my .exe file, I don't mind shipping that with the plugin, if you don't ... Of course, I would credit you in the license agreement. Now, the best way would be to send keys from within the plugin ... I haven't had much success with that type of code in the past, so I avoid it.
    Thanks for your support.
    Free Plugins available here.
    Advanced plugins available here.
     Last edited: by mediadogg
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantMarEll
    Registered: June 9, 2007
    United Kingdom Posts: 1,208
    Posted:
    PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Only thing I can thing of is removing the timout from the WinWaitActive function.  I can't think why the sleep function is needed with the wait function being there  

    Only other thing I'd do is instead of accessing the run command file (RCF) dialog by going through the file menu I would put the RCF icon on a toolbar and assign it an unused shortcut key alt-. for example.  But that's probably just me being picky about a few hundred ms 

    Give this a whirl:

    If $CmdLine[0] == 0 Then Exit
    WinActivate("Invelos Software DVD Profiler")
    WinWaitActive("Invelos Software DVD Profiler")
    Send("!.") ; Run Command File..
    WinWaitActive("Run Command File...") ; Wait for Dialog
    ClipPut($CmdLine)
    Send("^v" & "{ENTER}")
    Exit
     Last edited: by MarEll
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
    Aim high. Ride the wind.
    Registered: March 18, 2007
    Reputation: Highest Rating
    United States Posts: 4,845
    Posted:
    PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Quoting MarEll:
    Quote:
    Give this a whirl:

    Nice ideas. Will ship any improvements with next release. Tried that. Didn't work(after changing to $CmdLine[1]). Think I'll still with what I've got for awhile - I did spend a fair amount of time testing, and it seems to work. As I improve it, I will make it available. Thankls anyway, though.
    Thanks for your support.
    Free Plugins available here.
    Advanced plugins available here.
     Last edited: by mediadogg
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantMarEll
    Registered: June 9, 2007
    United Kingdom Posts: 1,208
    Posted:
    PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Sorted.  Could you do me a copy with the Alt-. shortcut key?  I have a run command file icon ready and waiting on my toolbar 
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
    Aim high. Ride the wind.
    Registered: March 18, 2007
    Reputation: Highest Rating
    United States Posts: 4,845
    Posted:
    PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Quoting MarEll:
    Quote:
    Sorted.  Could you do me a copy with the Alt-. shortcut key?  I have a run command file icon ready and waiting on my toolbar 

    ?????? I'm not aware of a shortcut for Run Command File. I would have used it. The "!." doesn't work on my system. What am I missing???? Also, I am reluctant to paste into the filter name field without first clearing it - just in case the old entry is not highliighted for some reason.
    Thanks for your support.
    Free Plugins available here.
    Advanced plugins available here.
     Last edited: by mediadogg
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantMarEll
    Registered: June 9, 2007
    United Kingdom Posts: 1,208
    Posted:
    PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Quoting MarEll:
    Quote:
    [...]
    Only other thing I'd do is instead of accessing the run command file (RCF) dialog by going through the file menu I would put the RCF icon on a toolbar and assign it an unused shortcut key alt-. for example.  But that's probably just me being picky about a few hundred ms 
    [...]


    When you create the icon on the toolbar if you name it &.RunCF it'll be given the shortcut Alt-.
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
    Aim high. Ride the wind.
    Registered: March 18, 2007
    Reputation: Highest Rating
    United States Posts: 4,845
    Posted:
    PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Quoting MarEll:
    Quote:

    When you create the icon on the toolbar if you name it &.RunCF it'll be given the shortcut Alt-.

    Wow. Much faster. I'll compile one for you. Mine has to be a bit different though, because I have to code for the case where the user has deleted the "Run Command File..." icon, or renamed it to something other than "&.RunCF" (or something else that starts with &.".

    Ok, download faster runcommand.exe (zipped) here,which is a compiled version of:

    If $CmdLine[0] == 0 Then Exit
    WinActivate("Invelos Software DVD Profiler")
    WinWaitActive("Invelos Software DVD Profiler")
    ClipPut($CmdLine[1])
    Send("!.") ; Run Command File.. , assuming an icon exists with a name that starts with "&."
    If (WinWaitActive("Run Command File..","",2)) Then ; Wait for Dialog
    Send("^v")
    Send("{Enter}")
    EndIf
    Exit

    (Oh, BTW, copy the runcommand.exe into \Plugins\MyTools folder.)

    Thanks to MarEll for some good ideas. My official version will need to have a bit more error checking, and will switch to the slower method if the required Run Command File... icon whose name starts with ".&" is not available.
    Thanks for your support.
    Free Plugins available here.
    Advanced plugins available here.
     Last edited: by mediadogg
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
    Aim high. Ride the wind.
    Registered: March 18, 2007
    Reputation: Highest Rating
    United States Posts: 4,845
    Posted:
    PM this userVisit this user's homepageEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Updated runcommand.exe

    I took a couple of MarEll's suggestions and enhanced the runcommand.exe. It is now faster, and I also put a bit more error checking in. Here.

    After unzipping, copy the updated file into \Plugins\MyTools. No other changes are required. You should notice smoother, faster response when you click on your icon.

    For those who care, here is the script that has been compiled into runcommand.exe:

    If $CmdLine[0] == 0 Then Exit
    WinActivate("Invelos Software DVD Profiler")
    If (WinWaitActive("Invelos Software DVD Profiler")) Then
          Send("{Alt}{Enter}{Up}{Up}{Enter}") ; Run Command File..
          If (WinWaitActive("Run Command File..","",2)) Then ; Wait for Dialog
              ClipPut($CmdLine[1]) ; Put filter name into clipboard
              Send("^v") ; Paste
              Send("{Enter}") ; Execute
              Exit
          EndIf
    EndIf
    Exit
    Thanks for your support.
    Free Plugins available here.
    Advanced plugins available here.
     Last edited: by mediadogg
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantMarEll
    Registered: June 9, 2007
    United Kingdom Posts: 1,208
    Posted:
    PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Great work MD.  I'll give it a whirl next time I open Profiler 
    DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantMarEll
    Registered: June 9, 2007
    United Kingdom Posts: 1,208
    Posted:
    PM this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Quoting mediadogg:
    Quote:
    Quoting MarEll:
    Quote:
    I had no problem moving the icons from the MyTools toolbar to an existing toolbar.
    [...]

    By craky, you're right!!!!    Thanks, missed that. Great, more time for other features.
    [...]


    Argh!  The icons revert back to the MyTools toolbar when Profiler is closed/re-opened. 

    Also, just tried the updated EXE, much quicker!  Thanks again.  Now I just need a faster rig so profiler actually opens the filtersets faster 
    DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantEdwinK
    Registered: May 27, 2007
    Netherlands Posts: 686
    Posted:
    PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionEdit postDirect link to this postReply with quote
    Another great one from the bestest

    btw. It must be me, who else, but I can't seem to find the load filter button
    Unfortunately, I can't use DVDprofiler at the moment due to lack of a Windows computer.
     Last edited: by EdwinK
        Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1 2 3 4  Previous   Next